AlayaCare Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 190 of over 214 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
AlayaCare Founder & CEO Adrian Schauer
Adrian Schauer
156 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really great company culture to work with(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great company culture, lots of support for remote work, fantastic market with a huge amount of upside, stock sharing plan(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company is growing fast but employees benefits are standard(in 6 reviews)

  • "Some people burn themselves in the past, and gave bad reviews, however, the work-life balance has improved a lot(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    466

    64 Comments

    Tech

    325.4K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=AlayaCare~1027372
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent

      Sep 22, 2022 - Senior Developer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent place to work. Nice atmosphere.

      Cons

      They are improving the organization, but still have a lot to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best job I've had

      Aug 23, 2022 - Customer Success in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture, people, work-life balance, and meaningful work

      Cons

      Employee turnover is high in CS

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Re-structuring was hard but handled better than I've seen

      Aug 19, 2022 - Professional Services Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits - work from home, wellness days, additional wellbeing benefits with dollars attached to spend as we like Transparency, Respect - Really appreciate the way the leadership team dealt with the restructuring. I have been through restructurings with other companies in the past and it was always worse when the communication was handled badly. I really appreciate the effort that the leadership team put into ensuring that we are kept well-informed, understood how decisions were made, and that everyone is treated with dignity. I also appreciate the way they have dealt with difficult questions with transparency and grace. tbh, I think the changes that are being put in place will really set us up for success in the coming months and years and I look forward to seeing how my department grows.

      Cons

      Appreciate ability to be remote but would welcome more opportunities to be f2f

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear AlayaCare team member - Thank you for this valuable endorsement and sage feedback in 'Cons'. We take all feedback seriously and objectively. We are dedicated to providing a work-life balance that fits the needs and life situations of all employees. Every company is examining how to create the best hybrid-work experience. We hear you about more face-to-face working opportunities, and we are working on some options as we start the new year. We also miss the personal connections that are only possible when we're together in the same room. Lesson learned on our growth and rapid acquisition of four companies in a short period of time. Anytime a company has to re-organize and say goodbye to some team members, it impacts everyone. We are very attuned to the feelings and emotions that this brings, and remain 'open-doors' to anyone struggling with the stresses that change in a company can bring. With thanks and respect, The AlayaCare People Team

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 18, 2022 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Truly live up to their values -Great executive team -tries hard to reward high performers -trying to solve problems for a very deserving and noble profession in senior care -

      Cons

      They have grown fast and through the pandemic it's been hard to keep the same small company culture that existed for a long time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear AlayaCare team member, Thank you for your feedback and review. We take each comment individually, seriously, and earnestly. It is gratifying to hear that you find working at AlayaCare rewarding and that our mission gives you pride in your career and choice of being with us. We appreciate you and everyone in the company who has this calling. We strive every day to live up to our core values: Be Transparent, Be Curious, Stay Humble and Hungry, Be Outcomes-Focused, Be Customer-Obsessed, Assume Good Intent, and Have a Bias for Action. Cons: We hear you and agree that rapid growth along with, and during the COVID 19 pandemic, naturally caused a change in our company culture. This is true with all companies. What we are committed to is making sure our culture, even though changing, remains true to the core pillars of the company (listed above). With thanks and respect, The AlayaCare People Team

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Massive layouts + Another corporate culture

      Aug 22, 2022 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Insurance, remote work. - Work life balance. - Only the people not working day by day will be the nice people you will meet. - Diverse people among teams.

      Cons

      - Recent layoffs. An eternal answer to all your "work equipment" request: "We have no money", but there are budget for new developers hiring. - Politics and bureaucracy among departments. Lack of ownership. Apply here if you want to develop your fake face skills rather than learn about tech. - Public passive-aggressive answers, or discussions to your questions in their communication tool. - Some teams have long and cringe meetings due people talking about their life and personal issues. Gossips included, specially when someone lefts a meeting. - Low salaries compared to the market. If you can work for another Canada's or US company, don't waste that effort applying here. - Always nice responses to / from upper management. Only people who laughs to their managers jokes get the promotions and raises. - The CEO is the only one talking about innovation. Other worker's thinking in the company is "I don't want to get in trouble". You want to propose a new stuff?. You'll receive a lot of negative comments of people. A boomer company mindset.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear Former AlayaCare Employee Thank you for sharing the feedback of your experience at AlayaCare. We take all feedback seriously, and we are listening. All reorganizations are difficult, and not made lightly. AlayaCare took dedicated efforts with everyone to be transparent in its assessment of the necessity to realign our business to stay agile and successful after acquiring four companies and growing rapidly. We regret the experience you had based on the ‘Cons’ feedback, and we are committed to addressing and resolving the issues you shared. AlayaCare management group is committed to an open, supportive, and empowering climate for all its team members, to do their best work, grow, and advance their career. We regret that we failed you. Our People and Culture team are always open to any direct conversations you may wish to have, to listen to your feedback, and work to make changes where they are due. Respectfully, the AlayaCare People team

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Incredible place

      Aug 9, 2022 - Helpdesk Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment, fair workload and great place to learn.

      Cons

      I have Seen Nothing so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear AlayaCare member, Thank you for this reassuring review and assessment of working with us. We stay committed, humble, and hungry to always improve and provide all employees the best working environment and experience in their career at AlayaCare. Thank you for your feedback, and we appreciate the validation. Respectfully, The AlayaCare People Team

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good but not great

      Aug 8, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and some opportunity to grow

      Cons

      Chaotic in some departments Lots of favouritism Lack of diversity at the top

      4 people found this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear Anonymous AlayaCare Employee We really appreciate the feedback here. We pride ourselves on our people, culture, and diversity. As a fast-growing company, we are moving fast, and regret your parting comments contained more Cons than Pros. That is never our desire, but we take your comments seriously and reflectively. We are implementing a new Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging (DEIB) program that will address concerns about diversity and equity in representation. We wish you success in your next career pursuits. Thank you for your feedback. AlayaCare People Team

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Jul 26, 2022 - Product Marketing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Leadership is transparent and supportive -Wellness Fridays during summer -Volunteer days -Remote first

      Cons

      - Not much I can see

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Thank you for taking the time to review AlayaCare on Glassdoor! We're happy to hear that you are enjoying your experience and the culture we are building. We are constantly evolving and appreciate your feedback as it helps us roll out new initiatives such as Wellness Fridays and Volunteer Time Off!

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Massive layoff - Don't trust the management and HR

      Aug 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home They hired in April and did a massive layoff in August. 17% workforce layoff

      Cons

      No Job security They say they have open culture but its not no vision

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear Anonymous AlayaCare Employee Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective and opinion regarding the recent company re-organization at AlayaCare. The resulting layoffs to right-size and reorganize our business were not made lightly. We regrettably had to part ways with just over 13% of our employees across all offices and geos. We do agree that all layoffs are difficult to accept. As a fast-growing home-based health tech company--we all share accountability for assuring that the AlayaCare mission and vision is successful. After two years of aggressive growth, and four company acquisitions, the need for natural attrition and right-sizing led to specific departures across all divisions, including management and executive management. AlayaCare prides itself on being open, ethical, and transparent with all team members and holds all employees in the highest respect and regard. We invite you to discuss your disappointments and concerns with your director or our HR team in confidentiality to reach a resolution. Through direct dialogue we will improve and thrive. Thank you for your feedback. Respectfully, Adrian Schauer, Co-Founder and CEO at AlayaCare

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a good organization to share your thoughts

      Aug 17, 2022 - Customer Experience Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work from home opportunities - Decent benefits

      Cons

      - Complete lack of communication between departments - Lack of transparency from managers - Toxic culture where all managers want is people faking all the time and smiling no matter what - Workload keeps increasing and not enough support provided by the company - There are updates with the software that are not notified to the support department so you have to figure everything out by yourself - Managers talk bad about you as soon as you leave the company - Company only wants people that says the stuff they want to hear

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      AlayaCare Response

      Dear Anonymous AlayaCare Employee Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take all feedback seriously, and we are listening. Your point about the need for better communication between departments is well taken. As a fast-growing company, this is an area of improvement we have always been committed to. Workload, work-life balance, well-being, and shared objectives internally and externally are central to our foundation as a company, and we strive to provide this with everyone in the company. As to your other comments, AlayaCare prides itself on being open, ethical, and transparent with all team members and holds all employees in the highest respect and regard. We regret that you feel you could not share or voice your thoughts directly to your team and manager, but we take your feedback seriously. Respectfully, AlayaCare People team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 190 Reviews

    AlayaCare Reviews FAQs

    AlayaCare has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 214 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at AlayaCare to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AlayaCare employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AlayaCare. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

    79% of AlayaCare employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AlayaCare 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with AlayaCare Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at AlayaCare? Share Your Experiences

    or