Akamai Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Akamai CEO Tom Leighton
Tom Leighton
950 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/Life balance was bad for the ones who were working on night shift as well(in 53 reviews)

  • "NO cons have seen in my experience(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice compaany to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best training and world class felicities

    Cons

    Long hours and pay is low

    Akamai2020-02-27
  2. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Eng In Test 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good office culture, accommodating and non-threatening Engineering teams are given long leashes Lots of possible advancement for talented contributors

    Cons

    Product infrastruture has large amounts of technical debt Very little accountability when bad decisions are made at the project level Free-range-parenting management style does not produce excellence Many processes are completely outdated

    Continue reading
    Akamai2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Software developer/engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, Challenging job, Relax management

    Cons

    Sometimes, management tends to be too soft and reluctant from firing incompetent people

    Akamai2019-01-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Encumbered by process and proprietary tech"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, ethical leadership. People are well-intentioned and cowboy coding and bro culture are looked down upon.

    Cons

    Compensation is average - they aim to be competitive in the local job market, so benefits are ok, but nothing spectacular. Everything you do will have barriers and delays due to the learning curve, or opening a ticket and waiting for someone to get around to it. Luna development is plagued by unstable pre-production environments, poor documentation. Calls themselves a cloud company but runs like an enterprise stuck 5-10 years in the past.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2018-02-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Akamai"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engagement Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Akamai is a great company that is poised for continued growth and relevance in an increasingly connected world.

    Cons

    Heavy USA bias doesn't always lend itself to working with other countries. Processes are not consistent and can hinder productivity especially when working cross functionally and across non USA territories.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2017-02-03
  6. "Good company, Naive corporate services"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart and talented people. Great technology. Good culture. Commendable transparency. (Most) employees genuinely care about the company and each other.

    Cons

    Compensation is good, but not great. Disappointed with the benefits from a disparity standpoint versus peers in the US side, particularly after going through a "perfect storm" of sorts with a health issue and recent baby. It highlighted shortcomings in the compensation package (as a Canadian). Example would be Parental / Maternity leave is expected to be taken out from a set amount of vacation / PTO time; same with medical leave; no EI top up. Discussions with peers seem to also indicate continuing shortcomings with marketing, legal (e.g. customers complaining about turnaround times for T&C on contracts; issues with employee visa applications) and other corporate services. Have seen some good rising stars leave the company after being poached because there was too big a disparity on available opportunity within the company and outside the company.

    Continue reading
    Akamai2016-03-17
  7. "Co-op Software Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
     in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Akamai for less than a year

    Pros

    Given relevant, useful work. Able to see my contributions being used. Good, helpful, encouraging team - they want you to benefit and succeed and they seem proud of their product. They'll take time to talk about something related to but not relevant to your specific task just to increase your knowledge and show you the bigger picture. Great work/life balance. Extremely flexible - come and go as best fits your schedule. Working from home/remotely was common. Learning and the time associated with it is respected. I was given work that I had no idea how to go about solving and I was given ample time to learn related concepts/tools and complete the task. Stress-free.

    Cons

    Not any cons that I can think of.

    Akamai2016-01-02
  8. "Inspiring organization"

    5.0
     

    I have been working at Akamai

    Pros

    Nurturing environment (Opportunity to learn, contribute and grow) Inspirational leaders Great products

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Continue reading
    Akamai2014-03-15
  9. "Good workplace environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Helpdesk Senior Associate in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, work place, Team

    Cons

    No cons from my end.

    Akamai2020-05-26
  10. "Good Products"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Akamai full-time

    Pros

    Customers genuinely like the products

    Cons

    Executives lacking in customer engagement

    Akamai2020-05-23
Found 1408 reviews