Airgas Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Airgas Chief Executive Officer Pascal Vinet (no image)
Pascal Vinet
266 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule and good benefits(in 82 reviews)

  • "Good pay and opportunities to advance within the company(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some disconnect within upper management but nothing that cannot be remedied(in 65 reviews)

  • "Since the Air Liquide acquisition they are always looking to cut expenses any way possible(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I am happy and excited to work in Airgas company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cylinder Filler in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company,Reliable company,Strong company,Trustworthy company,Caring company

    Cons

    Aging workforce,equipment reliability,inspections,large scale events,spill control

    Continue reading
    Airgas2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Felt like working with a guillotine over your head."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Route Driver in Delta, BC
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas

    Pros

    pay, benefits, people you would deliver to and co workers were cool. hours were great.

    Cons

    They would not hire staff to grow business, the sales staff are short staffed beyond capacity, customers are bailing due to billing errors all the time, you feel like you have a guillotine over your head all the time. If you do something wrong they will can you regardless of if they need you or not. They answer to USA management and thus there is no autonomy. You have to sign a contract that will effectively make you liable if you do something stupid thus enabling them to fire you. Be very careful if you do work there.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2012-03-07
  3. "If you are resilient, you will thrive."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of Travel and training in process knowledge.

    Cons

    The employees can be limited in sharing their knowledge because some believe in job security. Not a lot of computer system training.

    Airgas2020-05-25
  4. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Replenishment Buyer in Salem, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good health insurance; flexible; hires from within

    Cons

    I really don't find much to complain about, other than they moved my job out of state

    Airgas2020-05-18
  5. "Airgas pros and cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Hopewell, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like work environment

    Cons

    No one ever showed up

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-04-28
  6. "Awful place to work terrible executive management (AVP) and sales support managemant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None, It use to be a great place to work but not anymore.

    Cons

    Awful management, high turnover, not enough employees, AVP rules with an iron fist and has absolutely no idea how to inspire a team.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-06-01
  7. "Better than retail but same corporate games."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours are good, M-F no weekends or holidays. Company phone & laptop.

    Cons

    Since the Air Liquide acquisition they are always looking to cut expenses any way possible. Payroll is viewed as the greatest expense rather than the greatest asset. Branch Managers have to do and know all. We are the go-to and person responsible for; Safety, DOT compliance, Medical compliance, FDA compliance, in-stock conditions, showroom standards, hiring, and so much more. There are about 15 different reports that come down weekly and monthly that we are held accountable for.

    Continue reading
    Airgas2020-05-05
  8. "Career Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to advance if willing to transfer

    Cons

    Local opportunities are sometimes limited

    Airgas2020-04-13
  9. "Industrial Distribution"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company with expansive resources.

    Cons

    Large company. Employees are numbers on a ledger.

    Airgas2020-04-23
  10. "low pay decent benefits"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Filler in Salem, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Airgas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    insurance was good, hours were OK

    Cons

    union shop, bad management, large turnover, everyone has a bad attitude

    Airgas2020-05-10
Found 981 reviews