Airbnb Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
716 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too many people being hired, which means that work life balance is great (i(in 65 reviews)

  • "Typical growing pains for our size, honestly(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not good as a contractor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food at the cafeteria everyday

    Cons

    It obsolete the systems are very old

    Airbnb2019-01-17
  2. "Great company to be in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great benefits - great culture - everyone here is so friendly and nice, giving positive vibes - free food

    Cons

    - no handover, but I guess it’s depends on the individual managers. - approvals might take longer if your manager sits in another country

    Airbnb2020-05-16
  3. "Fantastic culture and people, limited career outside HQ"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic work culture and employees Quarterly travel credit Free food/alcohol Amazing workspaces Dog Friendly Frequent fun events

    Cons

    Limited career growth outside of SF and Dublin Tenured employees are nearly impossible to fire, even w poor production Startup mentality/disorganization for a semi-established business Vocal minority of extremely entitled employees

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2020-05-14
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Safety Specialist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture - Great teammates - Great management - Delicious and healthy free food - Great benefits (travel vouchers, health insurance, bike to work scheme, laptop etc.)

    Cons

    I cant think of anything

    Airbnb2020-05-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Disorganized, naive, hopeful, immature"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regulatory Response Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    (Pre COVID-19) Free food, 3% 401k matching, decent stock options (if the company ever goes public), decent PTO options, flexible managers, dogs in the office, cool office space, diverse, travel benefits, mental health benefits

    Cons

    Very disorganized, most employees have never had a corporate job and very much act like they're straight out of college, does not value introverts, weak WFH policy, dogs in the office, lots of money spent on office space, loud place to work (not great if you like a more peaceful or serious work environment), defensive toward anyone questioning policy or procedure, poor training

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2020-05-16
  6. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, if you have a great team then you’ll have a good time, off sites

    Cons

    Management looks down on contractors and offer little to no acknowledgement

    Airbnb2020-04-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Learning Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb for less than a year

    Pros

    They waste tons of money so pay is good and you get free food.

    Cons

    Airbnb needs a change in leadership on all levels. They continue to keep poor performers and many of the "leaders" are failures. I our team of contractors experienced bullying, labor law violations, and projects that regularly when nowhere. Contractors do a bulk of the work, yet are treated as second class citizens. Also, they are a facade of a company. The CEO makes wild promises and has made good on none of them. The office is expensively decorated but nothing works and there are not enough bathrooms, conference rooms or places to store personal items. I do not recommend working for Airbnb in ANY capacity as they do not care about their employees at all.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2020-04-22
  8. "Passive aggressive culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food Open source tooling Mac hardware Knowledge repo

    Cons

    Inexperienced, uninvested management Lack of career growth opportunities Extremely passive-aggressive culture - despite the emphasis on belonging, it is a highly political, siloed working environment

    Airbnb2020-03-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Falling fast"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    Free food, beautiful office, travel coupon, pay is decent

    Cons

    Complete micromanagement by every person in leadership, starting at the top from the CEO. I've never seen a CEO more focused on tiny little details of one product feature launch vs. the very serious issues he should be focused on, such as very critical and necessary Trust + Safety improvements so that people who stay in Airbnbs feel safe. It is appalling to see where his priorities are at. CEO runs off fear, insecurity and ego. Name drops celebrities he has "on call" to test our product. The company has lost all its charm, and it is sinking fast. This was well before any world pandemic or crisis. It's a completely white-male dominated company. Good luck if you're not a white male getting any sort of promotion. Company values are of course all lies. Not actually true that "anyone can belong" and that we're all trying to "be a host". This again starts with our CEO, who does not embody any of the core values. Trickles down from there.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2020-04-11
  10. "Good company as far as corporate world goes, but going through tremendous growing pains into a mature company."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Great mission, free food, quickly growing.

    Cons

    Unbelievably and chaotic environment internally, from the very top.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2020-02-21
Found 57 reviews