Airbnb Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Manager

Airbnb Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
36 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Parts Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    postive work culture, feel really well taken care of

    Cons

    Very fast paced, culture is shifting really rapidly

    Airbnb2020-01-07
  2. "great company to work for in the US but unfortunately the culture and values are not shared in the European offices."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager in Paris
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gym reimbursement, annual bonus & quarter bonus, 100% transport reimbursement

    Cons

    In the paris office we feel that the leadership doesn’t want to change and want to keep the French culture of working (keep old habits, control over employees, do not want to move with the industry trends).

    Airbnb2020-01-19
  3. "Great community, disappointing company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The community is inspiring and Airbnb offers a great experience for most guests. Most staff really care about the world around them. Some incredibly smart and inspiring people used to work here, and a few of them are still around.

    Cons

    Large, slow moving bureaucracy. Completely impersonal experience as an employee. Real lack of strategic focus or understanding of users from middle management. Highly political culture. Complete misalignment of organisational design vs. problems that need to be solved. Very far from meritocratic. Not enough people with experience of making genuine impact when dealing with uncertainty. Collective decision making is worse here than in any other company I have ever encountered. Fear driven decision making.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The culture has really lost it's way. There needs to be genuine leadership and a deeper connection with the people you serve. There are extremely talented people who could shine much brighter if you understood them more and lead with real empathy, understanding and vision. I would recommend: Re-assess and streamline decision making across the board. Smaller headcount, with decentralised teams around the world having their own dedicated engineering, data science and marketing resources. Doing less far better. All actions should be framed as experiments and there should be centralised repository for learnings. There needs to be people in a position of power that truly understand product market fit, and how to improve that before scaling. Supply and demand should not be so segregated, as it means problems are misdiagnosed. Organisation should be redesigned to be far flatter.

    Show More
    Airbnb2020-01-17
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, lots of growth and change

    Cons

    Unorganized at times- poor direct management

    Airbnb2019-11-05
  5. "Contracting at Airbnb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb for more than a year

    Pros

    -1.5x hourly rate over 40 hours / week

    Cons

    -Inconsistent contractor policies depending on manager, team -No vacation time -Fulfill full-time employee duties without the benefits (e.g. stock options, equivalent healthcare, time off) -Unclear possibilities for full-time conversion

    Airbnb2019-11-16
  6. "Good company over all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth opportunity Free meals Amazing culture Convenient for people who are starting up their career

    Cons

    Old management style Need to be competitive in terms of salary

    Airbnb2019-10-13
  7. "Great supportive culture, fast growth, lots of career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee benefits are great, Airbnb credits is a cool perk, HQ office is nice environment to work in

    Cons

    Really young employees, lots of entitlement with tons of room to grow and develop

    Airbnb2019-08-19
  8. "Embrace the adventure and champion the mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Unforgettable experience and taught me how to face challenges in life

    Cons

    Unclear career pathway and process and communication are not efficient

    Airbnb2019-08-31
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best culture, management and growth

    Cons

    None! It’s a great place to work.

    Airbnb2019-08-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Design gets big respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So great to be in a company where I don't have to constantly sell the need for design, content, and research. Design-led is accepted and embraced way of working at Airbnb. Designers are more like product managers at other companies, making business cases, and leading the full vision for new products and features. The Design team is super, super talented too. The best I've ever work with.

    Cons

    The only real bummer is the product team is terrible. I still have no idea what product managers do here. They aren't decision makers, they don't drive the business case, and they don't seem to have any responsibility for team culture. If Airbnb could solve this, they'd be unstoppable.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a CPO who can build a strong PM culture. Decide who the deciders are!

    Airbnb2019-07-14
Found 52 reviews