Agrium Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Agrium Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Agrium CEO Chuck Magro
Chuck Magro
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Work Environment and Good benefits for workers on contract(in 13 reviews)

  • "Friendly, good work environment, the management is super nice and the coworkers are great to work with(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "New CEO is more quarterly driven then company focused(in 6 reviews)

  • "The parking situation at the Calgary office is an absolute mess, but not a deal breaker(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Coop Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium

    Pros

    Learned a lot of new things

    Cons

    No vacation days for interns, no benefits either.

    Agrium2017-04-28
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical EIT in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid very well, lots of training for young EITs, great EIT rotation program

    Cons

    Not a lot of senior oversight/mentoring for young staff.

    Advice to Management

    Provide EITs with more technical mentorship as they transition from school to the workplace.

    Agrium2019-06-24
  3. "Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary, working conditions, great for advancement and training.

    Cons

    None to speak of really.

    Agrium2018-11-10
  4. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Collaborative; interesting; fostering; helpful; family; wellness of the employees. Enjoyed working there. Nice people. Resonates with my values. Learnt a lot

    Cons

    I cannot think of any; there are no attributes that I would describe as negative. I really enjoyed my experience there.

    Advice to Management

    Positive

    Agrium2018-03-15
  5. "Application"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium part-time

    Pros

    It's a great experience in my life

    Cons

    can have better pay since the min salary is up

    Agrium2018-02-11
  6. "Agrium, great place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vanscoy, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great communication, flexible, and willing to help you grow

    Cons

    Nothing to mention at this time

    Agrium2017-12-20
  7. "Good place to work, do not follow CEO's vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Agrium full-time

    Pros

    - Nice work environment - Friendly employees - Nice office

    Cons

    - Company outlook not very good - Lots of organizational restructures - IT outsourced

    Agrium2017-11-05
  8. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vanscoy, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Agrium full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mill Operations Management has a Few Shining Stars

    Cons

    Lack of integrity, discipline and fairness

    Agrium2017-10-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Agrium full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefit, nice people to work with

    Cons

    Limited career development, poor leadership

    Agrium2017-08-13
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Corporate culture has declined/Management has clearly disengaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Agrium full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Located outside of downtown . Benefits . Onsite gym and health and wellness programs

    Cons

    Uncertainty around merger, promotions determined with no regard to performance and positions not being posted. Employees are leaving and not being replaced which means all are expected to do more with less . It's a sad environment and it's clear the only importance to leadership is shareholder value. Having been around for over 15 years to see the company grow and become well respected it's disheartening to see how...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out from behind your desks and meetings. Meet the people who work for you. Learn who they are - recognize their strengths and treat them respectfully. Engage them - provide guidance and set expectations. Group emails accomplish nothing. Mike Wilson took the time to walk the halls and meet people as much as possible - as CEO he knew who people were. Chuck Magro nor any of the current executive team can say that....

    Show More
    Agrium2017-07-07
Found 172 reviews