Agilus Work Solutions "talentcor" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Agilus Work Solutions Employee Reviews about "talentcor"

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Agilus Work Solutions Chief Executive Officer  Craig Brown (no image)
Craig Brown
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nothing negative to say about Talentcor(in 8 reviews)

  • "Nothing negative to say about the team or organization(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "talentcor"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing & Communications 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agilus Work Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talentcor is a great place to work. They value work/life balance, offer a great benefits program and continuously encourage your professional growth and development. The atmosphere is positive and friendly, with a supportive staff and management team that will encourage you to share your experiences and are open to listening to your ideas.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Talentcor.

    Agilus Work Solutions2018-08-23
  2. "Consistently bad information given to candidates - No accountability taken - Time wasted and opportunities lost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Contractor in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Agilus Work Solutions

    Pros

    The only reason that I gave this agency one star above was because no stars was not an option.

    Cons

    It's crazy how often people write about how important it is for companies to embody empathy these days considering how few seem to be able to produce even a shred of it, particularly when they've screwed up. First of all, I wish to make clear that I have never been an employee of Talentcor / Agilus (London, Ontario office) nor have I ever been placed by them, but I was presented by them to be interviewed for two contract roles, both of which they mismanaged egregiously. I will never work with this agency or their recruiters again, nor will I ever recommend that anyone I know and value professionally should work with them as their client (read: product). In my first engagement with this firm, the recruiter quite specifically told me that she was the one-woman gateway into getting candidates jobs at a large, London-based multinational. While this agency is most definitely a dedicated partner in fielding all of this (massive) partner's contract roles, this woman's personal claim was a stretching of the truth, to say the least. My second engagement with Talentcor / Agilus came nearly one and a half years later, for a 'Supervisor' role at this same company. The recruiter made clear that this 'Supervisor' role was a team-lead position, had me revamp my cover letter to leverage and exemplify my expertise in team leadership and team-building - those particular professional stories - in order to successfully position myself for the role. They also told me to prepare to talk about those experiences. I booked the time off, rented a car and went in for my interview. The client team members I met were friendly and informative, but cut me off about ten minutes into my opening saying "You know this isn't a leadership role right??" What's more, they made clear that the role was going to expected to run around, wearing multiple hats, taking as much off of the plates of the members of another person's team. Talk about not being set up for success. I had to actually go in to Talentcor / Agilus (twice) to figure out how they had gotten the role's requirements to backwards. They're not so good at replying to candidate phone calls and emails. The recruiter - who I have since discovered was fired from a previous role for consistently producing nothing but excuses - told me that she had emailed me back, saying only that her client was going in another direction (because obviously after that). I never found this email in my spam folder or otherwise, so I expect this was another of her renowned excuses. I suggested to her that a phone call would have been more professional, given the circumstances, and I again demanded some explanation as to how Talentcor / Agilus got wires so badly crossed with their client. They blamed their client no less than three times in this meeting, saying that their client had given them bad information. They didn't offer to clear things up with the client. They offered me no transparency, showed no accountability, and couldn't even apologize for wasting my time by sending me in to get interviewed for what felt like the wrong job. Contrary to this agency's 'advice' I contacted the client's HR division and lodged a complaint, telling them that I'd never work with their recruitment partner again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    TO TALENTCOR / AGILUS: It is a dismal showing on your part when you handle candidates in this way. Getting bad info from a recruiting agency on two separate engagements? Making me walk in to get answers? Trying to manipulate me as though you think I'm some kind of simpleton? Throwing your client under the bus and refusing to take accountability yourself? These things do not make you look strong or authoritative. They hurt your brand. Your candidates have other options and do not exist to 'play office' with your incompetent recruiters. Nor are they there to help you justify your do-nothing roles while you take a bite out of their paycheck. I think that most of your candidates would agree that this privilege should be earned, and you are instead acting in a most entitled fashion. Furthermore, saying "That's all the info they gave us" is loser-talk for "We didn't ask the right questions", OK? If all you're doing is copying and pasting information from your client and selling it to line your pockets with percentiles of your appointed candidates' paycheques, then it throws the pertinence of your role in the equation into serious question to say the least. Try to do your jobs and not expose your laziness so completely, along with your entitlement. TO THE CLIENT: I appreciated you hearing me out about this pathetic saga. But I must respectfully disagree with your position on one key point upon which you attempted to distance yourself from the situation... You do not get to define these matters within the domain of the exclusive relationship "between candidates and Talentcor / Agilus", implying that it has nothing to do with you. They are your handpicked partner, and with these diversionary statements you are not taking any more accountability or showing any more empathy in these situations than they are. In short, your partner's failure negatively impacts your brand, too. TO BOTH: It's marketing 101, but if there's a key takeaway for both of your companies here, it is this... For top talent, how you treat them is a major indicator of how you treat employees. The bottom-line is that you don't get to determine how your brand's image is doing in cases like this... Only the experience of the candidate matters. Try to ditch this age-old presumption that this should be for you to determine. When people point out that the two of you screwed up, costing candidates time, money, and opportunities, you don't get to tell them they're wrong. And then you end up with online reviews like this.

    Show More
    Agilus Work Solutions2019-11-11
  3. "Poor place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruiter in Dartmouth, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Agilus Work Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    The many downsides of working at Talentcor include but are not limited to: -Poor commissions - Managers will steal the good candidates and submit for their own commissions -Gossipy and badmouthing are frequent amongst managers and their "best friends" IE- THEIR manager. -Poor communication - Managers will often hide details and leave you in the dark to guess. Especially to new employees. - Lonely environment - most people keep their doors shut and keep their heads down and work. No collaboration amongst team members. -Poor company in general - could not afford advertising so I had to drive around town for 3 hours in the rain and post flyers on bus stops/ terminals/telephone poles - which you know will be torn down as soon as you walk away. No money for advertising. The particular jobs you are hiring for, are so low in pay that you end up hiring the most unqualified people to do a dangerous job. Even seen people hurt on the job because I was forced to send someone in who physically could not do the job, but if they didn't do - it would be "my head on a stick. " - exact phrasing from manager Breaks - everyone brags about how they are actually going to take a lunch today but then say "you HAVE to take a break", so you feel like a slacker and end up eating alone at your desk.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Any relationship between a manager and their direct boss should be kept professional. Too many times, they crossed the line and did not listen to any of my complaints about my direct manager. Instead was told, its probably me and not them. When someone complains to HR about a person, those complaints should be taken seriously. Especially when there has been multiple complaints against the same person by different people. LISTEN TO YOUR STAFF. And if a branch cannot keep a recruiter on, leaving the position open for months and months and months - THATS A RED FLAG. Also check in with your HR team - I received 3 different salaries and ended up with one that was not presented to me originally. Times of my interview was incorrect, ended up showing up 1 hour early. Many, many mistakes in email correspondence. It is not difficult to proofread an email before sending.

    Show More
    Agilus Work Solutions2019-08-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed bag/management cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Agilus Work Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talentcor has some excellent clients and excellent recruiters. For the most part management is too busy avoiding real work to manage anyone, so there can be a tremendous amount of autonomy if you work responsibly. Work/life balance can be good.

    Cons

    Senior management is profoundly incompetent. At Talentcor, customers are not the top priority - management is. Some are decent but generally speaking they limit their involvement to ego-enhancing activities like retreats and workshops. They seldom participate in anything that impacts the business in order to avoid responsibility for failure. Communication with staff is non-existent - ownership encourages a culture of elitism. If you are OK with participating in the fantasy that management is playing 7D chess, you'll do fine. If you recognize the reality that they are bumbling fools, you won't last. They love yes men and women.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No point offering advice - they are immune.

    Agilus Work Solutions2019-07-31
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Agilus Work Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Endless opportunities for developing business, management gives you the flexibility to define your role and tailors your career to your skill set. Great management, positive workplace, collaborative, beautiful office.

    Cons

    Very competitive industry, however Talentcor has developed a fantastic reputation in the industry and is considered a go to resource for any hiring needs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fantastic work! Great leadership and mentorship available.

    Agilus Work Solutions2018-08-22
  6. "Watch out YOu will be treated Like TRASH !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Agilus Work Solutions

    Pros

    none most of the companies talentcor hires you for are more then happy to hire you direct at a much higher pay

    Cons

    they told me they would pay me every week after 2 weeks of working 12 hour shifts all night I did not receive , I called the week previous to get proper tax forms as they did not give me the forms when I was hired and to get my employee number to check my pay online they said someone would call me back and they never did . Then no pay came , after working all night I had to stay up all day continuously calling them to get my pay I asked for my employee number and once again was refused , I asked her why she did not give me by now the proper tax forms by now and she was extremely rude to me saying most of the kinds of people she deals with dont bother with that . In actuallity most people dont know that they are not suppose to be getting so much tax taken off a minimum wage job and unless you ask for the proper tax forms they will not give it . Anyways it is 3 weeks later and I received the tax form but no explaination as to why I was not paid only told I would be paid the following week . That is not what I agreed to when I signed the paperwork . Talentcor is a scam and will treat you like you are dirt .

    Show More
    Agilus Work Solutions2018-09-10
  7. "No help at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Agilus Work Solutions

    Pros

    A pro would be that they are an agency... So I guess they'll match you with jobs that might not be found otherwise...

    Cons

    My talentcor agent NEVER replied to my emails... and he only ever contacted me about 2 jobs. When i emailed him back..... NO REPLY. This was my first experience with an agency and surely my last. I found a job on my own.

    Agilus Work Solutions2016-03-31
  8. "Temporary Administrative Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Agilus Work Solutions for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They were personable and seemed interested in helping me find work. They offered advice on improving my resume. The interviewing and signing up process wasn't too strenuous.

    Cons

    I was hopeful at the beginning with Talentcor. But they were only able to get me one very short assignment that was suitable. They would offer one day gigs with no notice in locations they knew I couldn't access. They sent me to a very dysfunctional/toxic and understaffed company where I was very unhappy working. They didn't really seem to care about finding the right fit for me but were more concerned about finding a 'body' for their client.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do more research on the companies you are sending a potential employee to work for. Inform the potential employee of possible negative situations at a potential workplace (such as person you are replacing quit/was fired/disappeared). Do not knowingly send a hopeful candidate to an unsuitable workplace for a permanent position without a temp period. Show more care and consideration for job candidates. Take responsibility.

    Show More
    Agilus Work Solutions2016-02-23
  9. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Agilus Work Solutions full-time

    Pros

    What an experience to be part of a company that enables employees from coast to coast to work together for one common goal “Client Service”. The continual growth of our market is the ultimate proof that what we offer to our clients is nothing but first class service but most importantly the services we provide are satisfying their needs so they can grow in their field. For me Talentcor is the mark that other companies should endeavor to become.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think right now.

    Agilus Work Solutions2015-11-26
  10. "My Guardian Angels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Receptionist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Agilus Work Solutions for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lorri Sumner and the staff of Talentcor kept me working when everyone else claimed there wasn't any work available for me. I had such a hard time in Toronto but Lorri was always there for me. Bless her heart.

    Cons

    There were no cons, other than not having been able to procure a full-time job.

    Advice to Management

    Give Lorri a promotion. She's your shining star!!

    Agilus Work Solutions2014-12-02
Found 10 reviews