Aflac Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Aflac Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Aflac CEO Dan Amos
Dan Amos
387 Ratings
Pros
  • "The nice thing about this internship is the flexible schedule(in 103 reviews)

  • "You really can build your own business from the ground up with backing from a huge, great company(in 93 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales in 100% commission based so if you are not financially stable this can be very difficult in the early days of creating a client base(in 154 reviews)

  • "Commission based, no base salary(in 108 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This company has changed my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Consultant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give you the ability to get paid your worth and to work when you want and with who you want. Right out of college, I was looking at careers that were going to pay me $30-40k when I just spent $50k+ on my education...that wasn't going to cut it. I always work hard, no matter what my position or title, so I want to be compensated that way. This company gave me the ability to be compensated fairly based on my work... ethic. I also have had several opportunities to grow within the company and move into leadership. This company has changed my life and I wouldn't do anything different if I could.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con would be that I wish there were more opportunities to learn from agents nationwide on a more frequent basis.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ever get rid of the incentive trips! Some of the most fun I have had with this company has been on trips.

    Aflac2019-11-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Value its employees overall, competitive pay

    Cons

    Internal hiring process is often times fixed

    Advice to Management

    Please don't take internal candidates through the interview process if there is no chance they'll get the job. Too many very qualified people going for posted jobs that management has already earmarked someone for. It's a waste of valuable time for those who take the time to prepare for interviews expecting to be considered fairly.

    Aflac2019-11-05
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Office Manager in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Be your own boss, ability to help people

    Cons

    Wait time to speak to someone at HQ for assistance

    Aflac2019-11-06
  4. "Decent Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Executive in New York, NY

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good knowledge to have in any regard

    Cons

    Not the greatest culture/training; Need a different business model for retaining individuals

    Advice to Management

    Be professionals; Figure it out

    Aflac2019-11-11
  5. "Benefits Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basking Ridge, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aflac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Motivated Culture Managers are all successful Managers are all helpful Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    It's what you make of it, it requires a lot of patience

    Aflac2019-10-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Aflac has been the BEST career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time

    Pros

    Aflac has been an amazing journey. From being in the field now to Market office in a few short years. This company has a ton of opportunity to go up in the company.

    Cons

    this is not applicable to me

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for keeping it about the people!

    Aflac2019-10-21
  7. "Okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Proposals 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Profit sharing, bonuses and other events.

    Cons

    If you like office politics, then this is for you.

    Aflac2019-10-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Recruiter in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most Ethical Insurance Company in the World. Sky is the limit on income. Provides work/life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing to add as a con.

    Aflac2019-10-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Aflac reality isn't a "dream," it's become my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Keene, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I own my brand, have my own office, get the support from a huge tribe in my local region and market. I have made connections in my home town with business owners and building relationships with people in many different fields. I've grown as a professional and gained personal credibility. I spend time with my family, make it to (almost) every school event, have checked things off my bucket list thanks to the... bonuses and incentives (a week in Honolulu, Jamaica, weekend in NYC, private party at Fenway!)

    Show More

    Cons

    I answer to myself, and some days would be easier if someone else was telling me what to do.

    Advice to Management

    Make income/commissions easier to understand)

    Aflac2019-10-07
  10. Helpful (3)

    "I wish I had started here ten years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac

    Pros

    Best option for starting your own business without the cost of brick and mortar. Also had the most comprehensive training and competitive bonus structure for first year agents compared to every other carrier I interviewed with.

    Cons

    There will be more oversight and reporting than you’d expect going self employed. More like owning a franchise.

    Aflac2019-10-04
Found 785 reviews