Aflac Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Aflac Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 726 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Aflac CEO Dan Amos
Dan Amos
355 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "District Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dsc in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and freedom to build your own business

    Cons

    1099 can be tough to start out

    Aflac2019-05-09
  2. "Account Manager Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chico, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work a lot of ambitious people. Through the 32 online training, you do learn a lot about insurance.

    Cons

    No guidance. No training. Lack of communication from upward management. All commission based. No base pay.

    Advice to Management

    Establish a more structured internship. Introduce a training program. Allow the ability for advancement.

    Aflac2019-04-26
  3. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crown Point, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, bonuses are huge, you get out what you put in.

    Cons

    Not for those who are not self motivated.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Aflac2019-04-08
  4. "Decent early career opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distr 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aflac full-time

    Pros

    good environment, good people and atmosphere

    Cons

    upper management isn't the most supportive

    Aflac2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Loved it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist II in Columbia, SC

    I worked at Aflac full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Employees are celebrated and shown that they are appreciated, at least in our department. I only left because of a schedule conflict.

    Cons

    None in my honest opinion.

    Aflac2019-03-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Rating them with even a single star gives them far too much credit . Liars and backstabbers who will suck you dry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Sales Coordinator in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aflac for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Zero. Zip. Zilch. Nada. Nothing

    Cons

    Imagine losing everything and being in financial ruin

    Advice to Management

    Tell the truth when hiring. In the event agents do well, you’ll interfere and take for yourselves, resulting in agents having to start from scratch all over again.

    Aflac2019-04-23
  7. Helpful (13)

    "High potential, huge risk (insurance producer/sales)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Producer in Frederick, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aflac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission package is generous if you're able to keep up. Aflac is a great company, they genuinely care about their customers, and want to help people.

    Cons

    As an insurance producer you are responsible for finding all of your own business entirely. It's B2B soliciting and cold calling - 150 cold calls per appointment, 40 doors walked through per appointment are the statistics. If you can get one appointment per day then you'll do great, but you MUST have a drive to succeed and a passion for sales. If you can't manage yourself, and can't make one appointment per day then you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Feedback I've had from a business owner who used to have aflac: it was impossible to get a hold of the rep and there was no support, it made it seem like all we cared about was the initial money. I think you'd do much better off having dedicated W-2 account servicers, who specialize in account retention. I know a lot of that goes to the more seasoned sales producers, but it's very hard to get a new producer started and...

    Show More
    Aflac2019-03-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Too much for too little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Aflac full-time

      Pros

      It's a job for the moment....do not get complacent.

      Cons

      Employee Appreciation week is great.

      Aflac2019-04-06
    • "Claims Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Aflac

        Pros

        We have great benefits, 401K is important to me as well as PTO

        Cons

        Management can sometimes seem uncaring

        Aflac2019-02-21
      • Helpful (1)

        "Don't waste your time with this company."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Account Representative in Chattanooga, TN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Aflac full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I cannot think of one, thanks.

        Cons

        It's a terrible job I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

        Advice to Management

        Just get all new management.

        Aflac2019-03-23
      Found 726 reviews