Aetion Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Aetion Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Aetion Chief Executive Officer Carolyn Magill (no image)
Carolyn Magill
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great start-up with bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly and collaborative teams with strong science expertise and technical teams that power their platform -Streamlined culture that is mission-centric and value-based -You can tell everyone knows the important implications of the Aetion Evidence Platform and is passionate about their work -Hardworking teams with good work life balance and flexible schedules -Great benefits and lunch/snack perks -Career development and growth is highly encouraged -Central locations in NYC and Boston and WFH capabilities

    Cons

    -same challenges as any start-up that is growing and scaling.

    Aetion2019-09-24

    Aetion Response

    September 26, 2019

    Thanks for the comments, particularly around collaboration and technical expertise. We're aiming to not only lead within this space but also be a company where employees enjoy coming to work every day.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I have worked at so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRIS Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Innovative culture, amazing benefits, autonomy, friendly people, and intriguing & meaningful work

    Cons

    There isn't always structure cause it is a startup but that's what I like! If you like building and don't want to follow a routine constantly, this is the place for you!

    Aetion2019-09-24

    Aetion Response

    October 18, 2019

    Awesome! Thanks for highlighting our innovative culture, it's important for us to reward and retain our employees by making Aetion a great place to work through benefits such as One Medical, Parental Leave, and a casual work environment. If you have additional ideas, let us know!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of opportunity, navigating growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has momentum. There's a lot of interest and movement in real-world evidence right now, and leadership is committed to leading the space. Visible commitment to culture. Clearly defined values, and ongoing investment in people. Openness to feedback and reflection on how we can do better. Strong talent/ smart people at every level.

    Cons

    Frequent change and shifting of roles and teams. Given this, workload can be intense. Navigating the organization is a challenge, especially for new hires. There also seems to be a varying employee experience across the teams, some feel looped in, and aligned on vision, others less so.

    Continue reading
    Aetion2019-09-18

    Aetion Response

    October 28, 2019

    Love the focus on momentum, it is certainly something you can feel throughout the team! With the addition of our new Chief People Officer, Aetion has an increased focus on the onboarding process for employees especially as Aetion continues to grow. We're also looking for employees across departments who've recently brought onboard new hires to share what they've developed with us so that we can spread across the full team. Please send any info along to HR@aetion.com. Thanks for the review! - The People Team

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "High-growth firm for healthcare’s high-stakes questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time

    Pros

    Aetion’s reason for being: to root healthcare’s decisions — to determine which treatments work for whom, and what we should pay for them — in science. Endlessly curious, impassioned team. Highly attuned in BS detection; motivated by “facts not flash” (Aetion value). My science counterparts in particular challenge and deepen my thinking. Employee-driven benefit set, e.g., just rolled out 16-week parental leave coverage with no primary/secondary caregiver designation.

    Cons

    If operating in an environment marked by change and ambiguity (AKA an early-stage firm) isn’t for you, neither is Aetion. Some of the change and ambiguity is of the natural and welcome sort (for those who like startup environments) — a function of our pace of growth, the dynamism of our space... Some of it is for lack of process or for overcorrecting on process. Need a more balanced investment in/application of the tools and systems to help the A-Team do its thing with minimal friction. Other opportunity areas: cultivating/hiring for more people management chops, reinforcing direct feedback flow, more shared decision-making and accountability.

    Continue reading
    Aetion2019-01-18

    Aetion Response

    October 28, 2019

    Thanks for sharing your perspective, especially love the reminder to focus on the patient. After seeing this feedback and sharing with our CEO Carolyn, we've now incorporated a "connect to purpose" portion to every monthly All-Hands meeting. We'd welcome additional ideas and encourage you to share with your manager or department leader!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Interesting challenges every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time

    Pros

    Mission: The company’s mission is inspiring, and the work that’s being done is clearly making an impact in healthcare. Healthcare is a huge thing to tackle, of course, but I can feel real progress. Applied data science: The analytics we work on are tangibly transforming how we in the US develop and pay for medications. I've worked in other places where analytics are interesting but don't mean much; here, we’re can see how the data is creating meaningful change. Team: I work alongside amazing, smart, hard-working, purpose-driven people who I get to learn from everyday. They're also fun -- we seem to laugh a lot.

    Cons

    Most people have a sense of the fast pace we operate at but some do not; moving at different speeds is challenging in what's ultimately a fast-moving (and, yes, fast-changing) environment, and it can be frustrating for the folks who are carrying more of the water. There are also a lot of great ideas without the urgency to implement them -- I hear a lot of important stuff that people are thinking about but see less of it being done. I'd like more folks to identify what else we can be doing or what we can be doing better AND own the path to get there. There is a lot of change. This is good and bad; the bad is mostly that there are often new faces, many of them in senior roles. This has created some confusion as we pick up speed, but the good part is that I see the clarity/chaos equation quickly shifting in the right direction.

    Continue reading
    Aetion2019-01-31

    Aetion Response

    September 25, 2019

    Great and thoughtful feedback, thank you! Our mission to power critical decisions in healthcare with data-science driven technology is at the forefront of everything we do. We hope you're as excited as we are for our upcoming feedback training series and shadow a coworker day. If you have other ideas on development and retention, we'd love to hear from you!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Strong engineering culture based on meritocracy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has adopted Agile practices with program increments, and is delivering a powerful pipeline of new features to customers. There is expansion in available capabilities and user types as well as the commercial outlook. Strong comradery between the developers and product managers (scientists) which directly translates into increased productivity and satisfaction for both communities. Supportive founders, and sr. leadership to build a robust platform, properly prioritizing non-functional features, Dev-ops, Dev-sec ops with business features. There is a healthy collaborative discussion on what composition of initiatives, features, and stories is best, with contribution from engineering, product, and business.

    Cons

    You need to create your own trail since it's a small company. Based on your goals and personality this could be interpreted as either. I view it as a great opportunity for defining where you want to go, and being given the possibility to expand that would not exist in a smaller firm.

    Aetion2019-01-16

    Aetion Response

    September 25, 2019Director

    This is great feedback, thanks for your review! At Aetion, we view career paths similar to rock climbing as opposed to a ladder which, as you mention, can be an exciting factor for those looking to help us take on new challenges across the organization.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good team with a mission-driven culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Solid benefits and vacation, including the much-lauded Seamless allowance - Team members are friendly, sociable, and willing to help each other - Within technology, everyone is empowered to make their own decisions and team members will welcome new ideas/approaches - Working on small, feature-oriented engineering teams in 6-week release cycles encourages fast learning and focused work to accomplish goals - Leadership and team members recognize and appreciate meaningful contributions - The company has a motivating mission of making a difference in healthcare

    Cons

    - Technology does make up about half the company, so engineers should be prepared to work on a smaller team and to communicate regularly with scientists - Leadership has sometimes been slow to disseminate information surrounding long-term planning and company performance, though there have been efforts made to share more in monthly all-hands - It can be unclear exactly how clients or internal scientists are using the product, given the separation from engineering and the level of domain knowledge required. However, the company has had shadow days, client talks, and lunch-n-learns to facilitate cross-departmental learning - Many other reviews reference a “corporate” nature. It’s important to realize that Aetion operates in the highly regulated industry of healthcare, with major global biopharma (corporate) customers, which demands a level of structure and compliance. Though some team members and leadership come from such a background, this is less true within technology

    Aetion2019-01-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Respect and commitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Aetion, it's all hands on deck. Smart people are expected to be entrepreneurial, given the trust and tools they need to turn their ideas into programs and initiatives that support the mission of the company to improve health care through data science. Employees are respected -- as shown in the ease with which employees work at home and manage their schedules like grown-ups, excellent compensation and generous benefits, and the focus on diversity of every sort and community values. This is a committed team at every level, day in and day out.

    Cons

    Aetion is at that awkward stage of growth when the first hires at a small startup see new hires arrive to put new clothes on their baby. Anyone who's been around the block a few times know it's just one moment in a company's story -- and a sure sign that a mere good idea is maturing into a real company that will build serious value for its customers, investors, and employees.

    Continue reading
    Aetion2019-01-19

    Aetion Response

    September 25, 2019

    Thank you for this! We are incredibly proud of the team we've built and trust them to run at hard problems. We particularly appreciate your nudge towards making space for transparency at all levels. As a result, we've implemented monthly lunch and learns, executive office hours, and a summer series of focus groups. It isn't always perfect, but we are committed to transparency and collaboration across our team.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Sad to see Aetion dwindling away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent Benefits - Excellent Mission and Purpose - Intellectual and impeccable workforce who really wants to make a difference in healthcare

    Cons

    - New CEO flip flops and is extremely insecure. Very controversial and hard to work with - HR extremely undervalued...reports into Marketing...Yes, marketing. Unprecedented - Company founders seem to not care about leadership decisions and drama plaguing the organization

    Continue reading
    Aetion2019-01-08

    Aetion Response

    September 25, 2019Director

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're very sorry to hear that you feel HR is undervalued and your thoughts on the board. The board gets exposure to the company through quarterly meetings, meetups onsite with the Aetion team, among other ways as well. We value your feedback so if you would like to connect directly, you're encouraged to reach out at HR@aetion.com

    Continue reading
  10. "Staff Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion

    Pros

    Everything is good. Life-work is balanced.

    Cons

    Growth is slowing down. Need to find a new business model.

    Aetion2019-01-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews