Aerotek Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Aerotek Reviews

Updated 17 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Aerotek CEO Todd Mohr
Todd Mohr
1,379 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great growth opportunities and great people(in 146 reviews)

  • "There is a roadmap to be successful and a great training program to get you going quickly(in 112 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Aerotek full-time

    Pros

    Culture People Leadership Fun Lucrative

    Cons

    Competitive Base salary Placements Promotions Location

    Aerotek2019-11-04
  2. "Great company to build sales experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerotek full-time

    Pros

    Great sales training, a lot of growth opportunity

    Cons

    Extremely long hours, work you to the ground

    Aerotek2019-10-22
  3. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerotek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The feedback I get from managers and their investment in my development is unmatched by other companies that I've worked at.

    Cons

    Hours are more than other jobs but the job is fun.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Aerotek2019-10-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Recruiter Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerotek full-time

    Pros

    - People are nice and friendly - Music plays in the office - Do a good job of "selling the job" otherwise no one would take it

    Cons

    - No one tells you how stressful it will get, the numbers and hitting targets is crazy - Small outdated offices, old technology - Managers only care about how the recruiter makes them look good - All motivational talk is about not leaving the company - Implicitly make you believe there is no better place than here, trust me there is - Favouritism in management - Getting nightmares about work is considered a... norm - They do not deliver what they promise during the interview, sugarcoat - No work-life balance, try to leave ASAP - Expectation is to stay late every single night when you get paid nothing

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Needs to go easy on employees to retain them

    Aerotek2019-10-23
  5. "Okay job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People and Culture 

    I have been working at Aerotek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, open to listening

    Cons

    Late nights, too much stress

    Aerotek2019-09-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Gain the experience, then get out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aerotek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with in your office will generally be the best part of the job. Despite being compared to each other constantly, I still found a great camaraderie among my peers and felt that we all genuinely wanted to help each other and see each other succeed. The training is very good especially for the people who are fresh out of college and haven't been introduced to the professional world yet. It is a good... place to gain experience and build your resume .

    Show More

    Cons

    As I mentioned, recruiters are constantly compared to each other and you feel like you are always walking around with a number above your head. Upper management is extremely micromanaging and you feel you are forced to do things that aren't even beneficial to your actual goals, but you do them just to keep people off of your back. They try and preach "do what works best for you" but they definitely don't practice it.... I can talk about the work-life balance and the hours, however in my case they were very transparent about that during the interview process. If you are extremely money motivated and don't care about having a personal life or a family, this could be a great place for you, but if you want those things I would think twice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Truthfully I don't have much advice for upper management because Aerotek will never change the way that they do things no matter how many good people they lose. I guess my advice to Account Managers would be to treat your recruiters like adults and don't bully them into doing certain things because you are being hounded to do so, stick up for your recruiters when necessary.

    Aerotek2019-09-27
  7. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aerotek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary Fun culture Experience and exposure

    Cons

    Work/life balance Too much involvement in task other than recruiting

    Advice to Management

    It would be a lot more efficient to have a person for administratory tasks designated to an office. A lot of people are overwhelmed and working long hours because they do everything to do with their candidates. They could be spending that time recruiting instead. There is always a way to cheat the system and some use it for their “friendly competition”. That creates tension amongst peers. You can get promoted... very fast! It’s a wonderful opportunity however when that happens you also have to manage people. Some are great at the job but don’t know how to manage or should not manage.

    Show More
    Aerotek2019-09-21
  8. "Great leadership and training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aerotek full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hands on training, teach you work ethic, process

    Cons

    Long hours, in the office at 7:30 and leave around 6-7pm most days

    Aerotek2019-09-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aerotek full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Teaches you self-reliance - Good place to learn basic recruiting and interviewing skills

    Cons

    - absurd working hours with zero flexibility - forced overtime without overtime pay - revolving door of staff - cult-like culture, drink the koolaid and tow the line or get out - high stress environment - inexperienced managers and a company policy of micromanagement at every level

    Advice to Management

    - Advice is not taken by management anyway

    Aerotek2019-09-27
  10. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aerotek full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun people to work with. Stepping stone job.

    Cons

    Long hours. Low pay. Low work life balance

    Aerotek2019-08-27
Found 3303 reviews