Aerohive Networks Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Aerohive Networks Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Aerohive Networks CEO David Flynn
David Flynn
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company struggled a bit, but has fresh direction for products and hired great people to move things forward(in 9 reviews)

  • "Flexible work arrangement, freedom to work on and propose projects(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company wouldn't put value on stock options, and said only "we won't have a reverse split before IPO(in 5 reviews)

  • "The majority of Aerohive's board of directors is composed of current employees(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lucky to "bee" at the Hive! It's fantastic :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love having ability to contribute within my team and also cross-functionally. It is very rewarding to see how our actions add up and result in new ways to help our customers be wi-fi happy! Aerohive is a super team oriented company! We value collaboration and helping each other. I am also lucky to work with great people who are extremely experienced in their area and can always teach me something new.

    Cons

    I gained 6 pounds during my first 2 weeks because there is A LOT of yummy stuff in the kitchens. Be prepared to have your "new-Bee" picture taken when you expect the least - just smile and enjoy :)

    Aerohive Networks2014-08-22
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Death spiral going faster every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aerohive Networks full-time

    Pros

    Dyeing companies like this pay very well. If you can make the right people happy, you will get a VP title without having to move the needle on anything. Because nobody wants to work there hours are not bad.

    Cons

    Company is in such dire straights that nobody will take a senior job. Ex-sales guy was promoted to run engineering because no real engineering VP would take the job. When the head of marketing left, they gave the sales guy marketing too. If he likes you he will make you a VP though.

    Advice to Management

    Sell before it gets any worse.

    Aerohive Networks2017-10-05
  3. "Great product, Great team, but management issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The technical solution is awesome, and is still disruptive compared to competitors. During the last few years, many new products were added to the portfolio and Aerohive now has a complete access networking offer.

    Cons

    During the last couple years, the management focused on investors happiness, and broke the Aerohive team spirit we used to have. They also increased quota so they are no more achievable...

    Aerohive Networks2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "This is a very special company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much, except some very nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Please see those negative reviews posted before. They are all true. It is toxic working environment.

    Aerohive Networks2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love the direction we are headed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company struggled a bit, but has fresh direction for products and hired great people to move things forward. Management connects with and motivates the people, which is refreshing. Co-workers are wonderful to work with. Benefits are good too. Overall, I would reapply to join.

    Cons

    A bit more cross pollination would be nice to see what others are doing or to fable in other areas. MBOs get paid out every six months, causing turnover twice a year which is disruptive to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going with SaaS model. HiveManger is so much better than competition.

    Aerohive Networks2019-05-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place, great work environment, fast moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work environment, Comps', Tech, management.

    Cons

    suffer from bad bad rep' due to earlier years

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Aerohive Networks2019-05-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "5 year perspective on Aerohive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Marketing Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Small tight teams that work well together. Plenty of fun projects to work on. I definitely feel like i make a difference. Flexible hours. Never have any problem when i need to focus on personal time or issues.

    Cons

    Aerohive moves exceptionally fast and it can be overwhelming sometimes for some people. I personally like this, but for some, I know this can be tough.

    Aerohive Networks2019-05-07
  8. "Undervalued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Freedom / No Micromanagement - Great Management Platform / Product

    Cons

    - Slow Growth - Low Stock - U.S. underperforming - No Employee appreciation

    Aerohive Networks2019-05-09
  9. "Good company with good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun environment with great people working hard to get the job done. Exciting technology with a ton of innovation. Fun perks like bagel/doughnut Fridays, fresh fruit on Tuesdays/Thursdays, onsite gym, onsite massages, fully stocked kitchen, etc.. Dog friendly office! Good benefits including Kaiser Flexible work schedule, family friendly.

    Cons

    Some bad apples who resist change. Disappointing stock price.

    Aerohive Networks2019-05-02
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Sell the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aerohive Networks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some friendly colleagues and interesting people

    Cons

    The company has not been able to meet commitments for many quarter. Recently there was shake up in sales team and this is the solution every time when they are not able to sell . Most of engineering leadership team has no vision and execution style. Promotion is a joke and have not seen any engineer promoted soon. Don’t join here. And waste time. Tell me last time you had a open conversation. Worst quote I have seenhere...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop saying samething all hands

    Aerohive Networks2019-05-16
Found 137 reviews