Ada Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ada Co-Founder and CEO Mike Murchison (no image)
Mike Murchison
44 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Company! Growing fast, some growing pain but they'll go the extra mile for your well being <3

    Apr 27, 2021 - SRE/DevOps Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues and team relationships are over the top

    Cons

    Lots of growing pain on the technological side. Many questionable choices were made in past due to a shortage of resources and now that the company is scaling they start to show up.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best company I've ever worked for

    Dec 11, 2020 - ACX in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Absolutely amazing people. The whole recruiting process is geared towards not only just hiring top talent but also the right talent for our culture - Growing VERY quickly - with this comes opportunities, openness to new ideas -Despite some of the reviews, Ada really cares about their people. They've hired an employee relations manager AND an employee experience director so they can make the experience even better. From multiple personal experiences here, the whole leadership team cares deeply about employee wellbeing -Ability to pave your own path, form new roles (when there's a need) -Access to leadership across teams -Really great pay compared to other tech companies in Toronto

    Cons

    If you're not up for the challenges that come with rapid growth (longer hours, constant pivoting, evolving priorities), it probably isn't for you. This is not a 9-5 type of company but like I said, there is still a big focus on employee wellbeing -You need to be a motivated self starter to succeed here - if you're someone who needs to be told what to do, this probably isn't the place for you Working from home until 2022 (but this may be a pro for some) -Some lack of accountability across teams but the right steps are being taken to address this

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love it here!

    Jan 21, 2021 - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People first - but really. I've worked for both enterprise and startups... and this place is doing it right. They care a lot about people and mental health. To that point, we have an in house social worker, along with a ton of other great benefits. Leadership is genuine and crazy smart. We are one of the fastest-growing companies out there, and with that comes change and growing pains. That shouldn't be confused with a lack of direction or strong leadership. Unlike other companies I've worked at, you can actually get stuff done here because leadership trusts the people they hire. Leadership cares about DEI -- for the real reasons and are putting in a lot of initiatives here. Awesome people: Really nice and really smart.

    Cons

    I've only been here for 3 months, but none to share.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast growing company

    Oct 21, 2020 - Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great members on the sales/marketing teams. Collaborative culture. Everyone is willing to help each other and passionate in what we do. - Company is growing very fast with ambitious revenue targets. - Product is great and fun to demo. Makes work much more rewarding when the customers love seeing our demo's! - Love how we use the best and leading sales enablement software tools to help us become better sales professionals. - Great perks and benefits. Unlimited vacation and additional 1 day office closure per month (on top of the stat holiday) during this COVID period. - Was given $1000 for WFH budget + free monitor, chair, and desk. Perk is almost same as what Google and Facebook give to their employees.

    Cons

    - We work with customers around the world, so sometimes timezone could be a challenge. - Career development path is not as clear as other engineering/product departments. But I know leadership is working on this. - We're a fast-growing SaaS start-up, so our pace and culture is not meant for everyone. Can easily burn someone out for having too many Zoom meetings or Slack messages if one doesn't know how to manage their schedule.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Growing fast, learning fast

    Jan 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - strong product with recognizable enterprise accounts and well-known VCs - people here are passionate about their work and really give their best effort, which inspires and motivates others - management is invested in developing existing employees and promoting within - big and small wins are celebrated - people are recognized for demonstrating company values, lots of feel-good moments and team appreciation - good perks (benefits, home office budget, on-staff social worker, wellness events) - strong grassroots employee resource group and DEI initiatives - people here feel a sense of belonging

    Cons

    - we move quickly and the pace isn't for everyone. we experiment sometimes and it doesn't always work, so you have to be OK with failure and be able to move on quickly

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Incredible work culture.

    Apr 5, 2021 - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diverse. Really feel taken care of.

    Cons

    N/A. No complaints for now

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, lives up to its core values

    Nov 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at Ada for a year now and it's been extremely exciting to be part of the growth and success. Ever since I saw the job posting, I knew this was a company I wanted to work for with a culture and team that align with my personal values. It has only gotten better since and these are some of the key things I enjoy most about Ada: - Hires genuine, caring, and talented people that truly embody Ada's core values - Recognizes and rewards hard work based on results rather than optics/politics - Flexible, remote-first work environment and unlimited vacation policy - Offers great benefits (WFH budget, HSA and wellness spending accounts) and initiatives that are supportive of mental and physical health - Significant improvements in making the company more diverse and inclusive

    Cons

    - Growing very quickly which can be a con for people who feel pressured or overworked by new/unexpected challenges and responsibilities

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Opportunities for growth with unrealistic expectations

    Mar 31, 2021 - Business Development 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some really smart people there. They emphasize growth and development.

    Cons

    You are set up for failure as you move into new projects and they do not provide the opportunity to change your role.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    High growth & great learning opportunities, but at a cost

    Jan 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - fast-paced growth provides learning experiences that are hard to come by - due to pace of growth, many team members are likely to have ownership over significant projects - solid product & promising business growth - compensation & benefits are mostly fair, a lot of perks

    Cons

    - management does not always live company values - there are some politics that can be distracting from work & improving your skills - performance management & career progression isn't clear, and decisions seem to be informed by bias or other criteria that is not totally transparent - lack of diversity, representation, and inclusion in teams - many managers need to improve, especially in EQ, developing their team, and being educated around mental health & psychological safety in teams

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Great Company That's Growing Fast!

    Jan 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Welcoming and inclusive environment. Colleagues are very intelligent and are high performing. This company will push you to be better. A lot of career advancement and you are given chances to try new things. Kind and honest culture Teams are really open to new ideas and collaborating with each other.

    Cons

    This is a very high performing company which isn't a bad thing but it's not a place for the average employee. Worklife balance can be tough at times.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Ada Job Seekers

Development Lead
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at Ada? Share Your Experiences

Ada logo
or