Cover image for ActiveState
Logo

ActiveState

Is this your company?

ActiveState

Add a Review

ActiveState Reviews

Updated Jun. 15, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 16 of over 18 reviews
4.5
91% Recommend to a Friend
90% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 18 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ActiveState President, CEO, and Director Bart Copeland (no image)
Bart Copeland
13 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Tech

468.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=ActiveState~20506
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    ActiveState is a great place to work

    Jun. 15, 2022 - Software Build Engineer in Barrie, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management is balanced and supervisors work hard to work around work/life balance.

    Cons

    Health benefits are not as good as I have had elsewhere.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people. Great culture. Complex space.

    Apr. 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Conscientious, hard-working, responsible, and transparent leadership team - Careful hiring process that optimizes for fit - Excellent mix of accountability, challenge, and support - People support each other - Fair compensation that's regularly updated

    Cons

    - Somewhat traditional and hierarchical structure can inhibit innovation - Emphasis on unity sometimes leads to conformity - Work-life balance can be poor

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the ActiveState team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company!

    Dec. 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are great, salary is good!

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad work life balance, politics, salary

    Sep. 22, 2021 - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not much at all. Would recommend you to never work here.

    Cons

    - Low salary - Management will give all kinds of excuses not to pay market rate or not promote superstars - Very bad office politics - Favoritism - Nepotism

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Top tech company fun place to work

    Jul. 30, 2019 - Public Relations Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Proven global leader in open source language solutions -Great work life balance and it's fun working there -Effective approachable senior management and awesome CEO -Kind colleagues -Well-run with purpose and vision -Great benefits and review process -Strong learning opportunities

    Cons

    Suggestion to senior management is to keep doing what you're doing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Legit Company

    Mar. 21, 2019 - Account Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I first considered joining ActiveState, I was very skeptical about their 5-star rating but they gained my trust very quickly. ActiveState is seriously the best company I have ever worked at because management have a direction and they know how to get there. Also, the employees are some of the best people ever and it is an absolute privilege to work with them. - Good Compensation - Stocked Fridge - Tight Knit Team - Stocked Fridge

    Cons

    No cons - there is nothing I would change.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Lot to Get Excited About

    Jul. 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Genuine people and friendly work environment * Very transparent with good communication around expectations, goals, responsibilities * Lots of great perks like a bonus system, stock options, health credits, Friday lunches and social events * The company acknowledges and awards excellence * Great importance placed on hiring for cultural fit so retention is good and morale remains high * Lots of talented individuals working on cutting-edge tech

    Cons

    * Could be some improvement in interdepartmental communication

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ActiveState Response

    Demand Generation Manager

    We would welcome any new ideas that would help with more open communication within our office. People and transparency are a huge focus for us at ActiveState! We want our employees to feel valued and be rewarded for their contributions, while they work on exciting new tech developments.

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company if work culture is your focus

    Feb. 14, 2018 - Marketing Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has a great working culture compared to any I have worked at.

    Cons

    Small company so there is little room for upward growth. They seem to hire new management from outside before looking internally.

    2 people found this review helpful

    ActiveState Response

    Demand Generation Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we are very proud of the culture that we have fostered at ActiveState. We like to consider internal applicants and have filled positions with internal candidates when there's a match in skills and experience.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Highly Recommended

    Aug. 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Totally open atmosphere, shrewd management, company really acres about their employees.

    Cons

    Well maybe some people don't like to work downtown....

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Sr. Account Executive

    Feb. 8, 2016 - Enterprise Account Executive in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast moving, innovative company. Fantastic group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Almost zero cons to working at ActiveState.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with ActiveState Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ActiveState? Share Your Experiences

ActiveState logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Software Engineer(2)

ActiveState Photos

+ Add Photo
ActiveState photo of: The ActiveState office in downtown, Vancouver.
ActiveState photo of: A weekly Activator lunch in Ten Forward. Remote team members join via video conferencing.
ActiveState photo of: Product team and Marketing making use of our pod chairs.
ActiveState photo of: The ActiveState leadership team engaged in lively discussion.
ActiveState photo of: A well-deserved Friday pasta lunch
ActiveState photo of: A whiteboarding session in Spock's Quarters.
ActiveState photo of: Lobby
See All Photos

ActiveState Job Seekers Also Viewed

Teradici Logo
Teradici

4.0

73 reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 18 ActiveState reviews submitted anonymously by ActiveState employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if ActiveState is right for you.