Achievers Employee Reviews about "parent company"

Updated Mar 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Achievers CEO and President  Jeff Cates
Jeff Cates
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "the people i worked with are all great people, friendly(in 22 reviews)

  • "Such a great culture and vision(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some have moved on to more prestigious roles within our parent company(in 8 reviews)

  • "As with any growing company, the only constant is change(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "parent company"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Company

      Mar 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture. Great employee engagement, recognition and support. Company is growing really quickly, so it's an exciting place to work Employees are very smart

      Cons

      Some processes need upgrading, but the company is aware of this and changes are in the pipeline. Dealing with the parent company can be cumbersome

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Anonymous

      Jan 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work space and amazing people.

      Cons

      Poor leadership, doesn't seem to have a clear vision for growth, poor communication, disconnect with parent company. Painful growing pains and disconnect with offices

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      not what it appears

      Jul 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      environment & culture, people (some, not all!)

      Cons

      - young, cliquey (like high school as some of the other reviews stated) - politics between parent company and Achievers - manual processes - career opportunities - communication from management

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      At last I am home

      May 23, 2018 - Anonymous Intern in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company drinks its own champagne. Employees are engaged and it feels more like a family than a business, even with the fast growth. I’ve never worked for a company where ALL our customers love us. It is a little surreal... I haven’t been here that long and I already feel like I belong. Employees hustle because they like being here and they like being recognized. Our leaders try their best to understand how to make it better and it is an open and honest environment. The company has integrity and building a partnership is more important than making a sale. I love that! Achievers cares about their clients and I am amazed at the relationships we have with our customers; they also care about their employees and constantly ask for feedback. Lastly, they care about doing the right thing. Ok, one more: they know how to have fun and understand the importance of balancing life with work. That is why I am home :-)

      Cons

      Some people are complaining about the volatility in management and recent changes with our parent company being acquired by a PE Firm. There is a little uncertainty about how that is going to affect certain jobs. I see this as an opportunity and not an actual con; the world recognizes that we are a rising star and so far the changes has all been positive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Account Executive

      May 25, 2018 - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros is definitely the culture. The entire team puts an immense about of proud and effort into bringing on individuals that vibe with the culture they are building. Everyone is happy to be there, and truly enjoys working with each other! You are seen as an equal and as long as you are will to work hard, they also play very hard! I have never seen a company that legit acts like a family! It is amazing! The flexibility and work-life balance is also another huge factor/pro. Everyone hold you accountable to your own work but it is valued that you have a life outside of the organization and they encourage you to go on vacations, take time off, spend time with your friends and family! I love working at Achievers.

      Cons

      Sometimes as a new hire the onboarding process is not terribly organized between them and their parent company. There is a lot of overlapping and miscommunication. Also, not a lot of direction internally, however if you reach out to any of your new colleagues they are willing to help!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales

      Nov 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, solid management team (both senior leadership and frontline managers), fun/progressive/transparent culture, cool product that actually delivers ROI for customers and improves the quality of people's lives. Biggest pro is the amazing people who work here.

      Cons

      The downside to having a chronically encouraging/positive work culture is that there's a pattern of people in the company straying away from providing constructive feedback. Also, the employees of the parent company, Blackhawk, tend to have the mentality of government workers so it can be frustrating to deal with HR and legal.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing culture, great people and most passionate place I've ever worked!

      May 24, 2018 - Enterprise Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - They've hired a great group of people here. Always passionate about what they're doing and it is contagious - Continuing to enhance solution portfolio to put us at the front of the industry as a thought leader - Phenomenal client retention rates (98%) which shows that we practice what we preach and deliver real quantifiable results for our partners - Flexibility to adapt to changing dynamic of employee experience allowing us to stay ahead of the curve - Soundly believe in our philosophy and approach which is uniquely different from all other vendors in the space - We drink our own champagne (meaning we use our own platform internally) and the impact it creates is intensely powerful. Employees helping peers, motivating each other and genuinely happy for the success of everyone on the team. As they say, a rising tide raises all boats and that positivity can be felt in every corner of the company - Transparency exists all the way up to C-suite. They welcome ideas which allows us to be a leader in innovation. I feel comfortable reaching out to any employee directly, all the way up to the CEO, to share ideas and seek out advice - Our contributions matter and we live and breathe this every day - Competitive base pay for sales execs, manageable quotas and very generous variable comp possibilities if you're bringing new clients on

      Cons

      - has been some turnover in leadership that caused temporary, but unfounded, concerns with the workforce. Some have moved on to more prestigious roles within our parent company. The ultimate guiding force is our philosophy and we understand that all employees must believe in it to succeed. We aren't afraid to move on from folks who don't seem to meld with our vision and culture - as with any growing software company (we have grown 30-40% annually for the last 5-7 years) there can be a learning curve as we roll out ideas and potential solutions but the drive and passion are there which leads to long term success - can be viewed as a higher cost option at times but every customer who made the leap has seen the value in return which explains our client retention figures and customer success stories (ROI in revenues, retention, customer satisfaction, safety, innovation, etc.)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good perks, mediocre management, lots of turnover

      May 10, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, friendly co-workers, good benefits and perks, competitive salary, senior leadership is great, and the overall company culture is pretty laid-back.

      Cons

      Abnormally high amount of turnover, especially in management. The organization does not move quickly enough in hiring to remain optimally functional. Opportunities for advancement are minimal, growth of the company has slowed significantly, parent company is terrible.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Achievers Job Seekers

    Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Achievers? Share Your Experiences

    Achievers logo
    or