Accruent Employee Reviews about "austin"

Updated Jun 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 461 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Accruent President Andy Ruse
Andy Ruse
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone at Accruent is extremely supportive and they truly care about your personal well being and professional growth(in 101 reviews)

  • "open PTO, you are encouraged to take time off and they offer it without a lot of restrictions(in 37 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "very few happy customers due to some product issues but mostly the hassle of dealing with Accruent(in 66 reviews)

  • "Sometimes working remotely out of the New Orleans office can be a little inconvenient with most of the team working out of Austin(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    106.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Accruent~16198
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "austin"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Great Stepping Stone

      Jun 26, 2020 - Software Engineer In Test in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good foot in the door for other Austin Companies - A lot of initiatives needed so a lot of things to learn and tasks to accomplish

      Cons

      - Management plays favorites and won't really do much to absolve any problems - Management also at times lacked a sense of maturity and enacted many passive aggressive behaviors - Lack of communication and transparency - Underpayment

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great breeding ground for future stars who will surely move on

      Nov 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High culture environment, especially in the Austin office. Good toolset for product managers, including full access to SFDC data, Aha!, Atlassian suite, Mixpanel. A company with great market positioning and win opportunity. All key departments are under one roof, which means a walk down the hall to a face-to-face will solve a problem in five minutes. It’s a fabulous place for young people to be well mentored, to seek a better position elsewhere having gotten solid training.

      Cons

      Pay is well under market, which means they can’t hold onto people. Acquired companies with non-Austin HQs don’t enjoy the same sense of connectedness, in particular ones where product management and dev teams are in different cities. They haven’t yet figured out the shared services investment that will earn big bucks in white space market.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Collection of parts that is falling apart

      Nov 24, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Accruent has some real products that benefit a lot of customers both in the US and abroad. Most employees try very hard to do the right thing in supporting customers. If you have relatively low experience and are trying to break through - good place for some people.

      Cons

      The senior management grew the company through acquisitions and then sold to Fortive. It's a collection of parts. There is no vision for technology since the CTO left last year. It's all about sales. They hire sales people like crazy and pay for it by cutting the engineering staff. Just had a round of layoffs. I suspect there will be additional rounds of cuts on engineering as the current leadership team has no clue about what it takes to build software. The CEO only cares about what he is telling Fortive and is very misleading to employees. Assisting in this effort to mislead and promote "positive" narratives is the CMO. Eg. they will tell you that there are a lot of open positions which is true, but what they don't tell you is that most of them have been postponed and will likely never be hired. Misleading statements while on the surface are accurate but are not. Starting with the CEO - they are extremely biased towards the sales organization. Whatever sales wants, they will get. "Revenue producing" is the word attached to sales functions. Every other team by implication doesn't produce revenue so therefore are second class citizens and are treated as such. For a mid size software company, their finance and back office is a joke. Everything is a manual process. Budgets are manual spreadsheets and nearly always wrong. HR system is horrible and the guy who implemented that actually got promoted even though everyone knows his work was horrible. They can't invoice customers correctly for 2 years now. Let that one sink in. Extremely political organization. Eg. they will tell you one thing to your face and behind the scenes they are saying negative things to sabotage you to superiors. If you aren't in Austin - be prepared to be undermined, sabotaged and ignored. If you are looking to build great software, you do not want to join Accruent despite all the nice pictures you see on LinkedIn.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Finance

      Sep 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed environment, casual culture. Low office politics

      Cons

      Centralized decision making, bureaucratic, lacking innovative / experimental culture in offices outside of Austin. Struggling to globalize

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working for a winner!

      Jul 16, 2019 - Director in New Orleans, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My job at Accruent allows me to do a variety of things. I focus mainly on growing and building a winning team in the New Orleans Office , but also get to work on strategic projects with the People's Team, Marketing, and Sales. Some people live to work, and others work to live. I live to work for Accruent. My belief in our values resonates through everything I do; from a conversation with a fellow business owner while waiting for my coffee order before getting into work, through my daily meetings with our team and organization, to the networking events after hours. This role is a part of who I am and to be successful, I am inherently invested in and care about my team. I am proud of the bond I have cultivated with them, that has led us to successful milestones and pushed us past our goals. Over the past year, I've opened up the New Orleans office. I, along with several key team members have scaled the office from 1 to 67 people. During that time we've built a winning culture that other Accruent offices want to be a part of and emulate what we've done here in New Orleans. From kaizen activities to creating an environment where employees voices are heard to team building activities to creating an environment where employees can be successful at their jobs, I can say that we've created something special here in New Orleans. Being able to have access to our leaders and C-Team back in Austin has allowed me to be successful in my role. They've provided guidance and encouragement where needed, but for the most part they hired and trusted me to do a job and because of that, I've been successful. A successful company starts with caring, creative, innovative, and intelligent people and at Accruent those are the type of people we have throughout our organization. Working here, I am blessed and rewarded every single day of my job. One of the big things that differentiate us from other employers is that we invest in our employees and you begin to understand that when you go through our New Hire Orientation (NHO). We are a fast paced growth company which allows for creativity, new opportunities for employees, and fun challenges across our organization. Every single day I walk through our office doors, I have an opportunity to win the day because I live my work life by our 6 core values: Grit, Integrity, Humility, Drive to Excellence, Results, and Winning Attitude. There are many others throughout our U.S. and global offices that do the same thing, which make for a winning organization.

      Cons

      We have to pay for our parking. Would love to see that change, but I know most companies in downtown New Orleans do not pay for employees parking.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Growing software company with a great NOLA focus

      May 7, 2019 - QA Engineer II in New Orleans, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New Orleans is fast becoming a hub for technology companies and Accruent is taking full advantage of it. The company is headquartered in Austin, but the New Orleans office feels like its own entity. Casual dress code, unlimited PTO, interesting technology projects to work on. Your success in the company is directly contingent on your progress. You're encouraged to learn more and grow in your role. The company culture is second to none. The ability to work from home is a huge plus. Walking distance to the French Quarter. Monthly happy hours. It's just great.

      Cons

      Parking is difficult, but it's downtown New Orleans. Find a way around it. Some people end up walking a mile or more into the office. But there's the bus, the streetcar, lots of bike options. Pay can vary widely. It really depends on the role you're hired for. There had been some issues in the past with accusations of the company paying below market rate. But think about this. If you're hired for a support role, you honestly can't expect to earn the same as a senior developer. The office is also growing. Fast. There will be growing pains. I've been with the company for nine months and have changed desks three times. Those are temporary problems while the NOLA office builds out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A distribution channel - not a tech company

      Oct 18, 2018 - Engineering Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Acquired good companies that built good products before Accruent came around.

      Cons

      A bigger sales brochure does not make a company better. The low cost labor strategy will soon affect custoners and reduce the value of the acquired products. Our company lost key people and continues to see the good staff looking for external opportunities while poorly qualified Accuent staff try to learn on the job. The sales center culture of Accruent Austin is incapable of sustaining good products or knowledgable support and services. As a purchased employee, I see no upside for our customers or our staff from being part of Accruent.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      These "leaders" are figuratively The Worst

      Aug 23, 2018 - Quality Assurance Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited(up to about 3 weeks) PTO, its really nice to not have to worry about taking days off when you get about as many as you need. You will gain skills They at one time hired exceptional people(not neccessarily at the c level)

      Cons

      The leadership will make you want to jump ship. These guys were not great to begin with, but I didnt hate them until John Borgerding and CO showed up. One of them litterally dropped an f-bomb in his intructory company presentation and illicited applause for that "professional" display. Im not going to throw too much dirt at them, but when Wayne Roberts the executive team became more of a boys club than an inspiring group. All the really great people are on there way out. This was for a short time a place that hired great and produced innovation, I believe that time has ended for the Austin location. Upper level management carrying on affairs with much younger direct reports is always a fun spectacle, really inspires confidence and respect in all involved parties as well as the company organization that fosters such relationships. The low low low pay The benfits should be ahelluvalot better

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company, Great Culture

      Jul 31, 2018 - Software Engineer in New Orleans, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the honest and open communication culture at Accruent. Everyone at the company strives to make sure I am performing to the best of my ability and I'm not hesitant to reach out for help. My coworkers are so much fun. I look forward to coming to work every day and find my job to be both relaxing and rewarding.

      Cons

      Sometimes working remotely out of the New Orleans office can be a little inconvenient with most of the team working out of Austin. However, I would say that we love living in NOLA and many people visit us from Austin. Another con would be that our software isn't brand new, so we are often working on legacy code and it can get confusing. We are refactoring for a React front end though and I'm excited about that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Product Manager

      Apr 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Austin office is great - They have a wonderful culture and it really is a great place to work Good benefits Good people Transparent

      Cons

      It’s really hard to get acquired offices outside of Austin to share but into the culture... Not really a fault of the company I just wish we could see more of that in other offices

      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Accruent Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Accruent? Share Your Experiences

    or