Absolute Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 228 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Absolute Chief Executive Officer Christy Wyatt
Christy Wyatt
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some great people work there and the culture was great when I was there(in 20 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance and good pay(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "C-level executives threaten and force employees(in 8 reviews)

  • "A lot of pressure from senior management, especially quarter end(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job with lots of opportunity

      Dec 5, 2019 - IT Helpdesk Analyst in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -The people you work with are very great -Everyone seems to be willing to help -Getting coverage for time off is not hard -Pushes you to work more and more -Great benefits (Health) -Work life Balance is great -Management team is very helpful and encourages you to keep working hard

      Cons

      None that I can complain about

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work environment

      Sep 13, 2020 - Financial Analyst in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance and good pay

      Cons

      Repetitive work and there are not much to learn

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Engineer

      Oct 16, 2018 - N/A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to start, people are nice and help each other, work / life balance

      Cons

      not as good as before

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company backed by great people

      Mar 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolute Software has a great culture. Everybody is very welcoming and helpful, which makes any career transition easy. They really take care of their employees by promoting a healthy work-life balance. I think this is evident in the various events we have throughout the year like our Whistler getaway, Christmas Party and our Children's Christmas party. Absolute also sponsors our Ice Hockey, Soccer, and Baseball team.

      Cons

      Sometimes new initiatives are not clearly communicated or consistently communicated to employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Absolute Response

      Absolute Software

      Thank you. Your feedback is really appreciated. Maintaining a positive and rich culture is important to us and it’s always nice to hear how these events and off-sites are received. Reviewing our existing applications is a definite priority. We’ve recently formed a new Business Applications team to address these issues and a big effort is currently underway to update and consolidate a number of these systems to improve overall efficiency. If you have specific questions or feedback around an application, please let your team lead or manager know. Your insight would be valuable when determining which systems to prioritize.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Outstanding organization to be part of

      Oct 7, 2015 - Senior QA Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am a qualified engineer who became part of the Absolute team 2 years ago. Primarily I joined Absolute with the interests of contributing and knowing more on Absolute’s unique product offering in the area of Device Data Security. DDS is a very specialized area of evolving industry sector as proven by our very healthy financial status over the years. DDS also has huge potential to scale with every digital device or gadget that may go out to market from manufacturer’s factory line. The services that Absolute and its partners are able to provide with our patented DDS technology is unparalleled to anything I can think of in this business domain or sphere of interest. I have got exposed to working with different development practices and cultures in 3 continents in the world working in companies in Europe, Asia and in North America over the last 18 years. Absolute is my 6th employer in Vancouver and I find Absolute is very unique in many ways. It comes as the #1 company who cares for the wellbeing of its employers. It advocates all its employees to maintain a good work-life balance so that all employers are in a position to make innovative, quality and notable contributions to the growth of the company. Absolute’s benefit packages are second to none in all companies that I have worked during my career. Company sponsored 4 day summer retreat is a good testimony of Absolute’s commitments to wellbeing of its employees and their families. Above all we have a very fun loving, collaborative, energetic work force who believes nothing is impossible to achieve if we put our minds and efforts into it. During my last 2 years, I have already contributed to four different projects. If you like challenges, if you like something new to work on every now and then and more than anything if you have the desire to succeed then Absolute is the place to be in Vancouver. If you have new ideas proven or otherwise they won’t go unnoticed as project stakeholders are very eager to listen and put them into good use. You are also be able to be part of these teams with every stage of project progress to see to yourself how these unique ideas and concepts faired or succeeded. As with any processes or ideas once tried you have the authority to fine-tune them with continuous improvement strategy that Absolute management advocates in all areas of our company. Every day I look forward to come to work knowing that I am going to learn something new and be able to contribute positively to the company. It is not a feeling that I have experienced always every day during my carrier ☺

      Cons

      We can achieve even better success if more members of our organization take ownership of their work items applicable for their designated roles.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Absolute Response

      Absolute Software

      Thank you for sharing your work experience at Absolute. We appreciate your honest and balanced input. Your passion for new challenges and your pursuit to improve processes are perfect examples of the spirit and environment we embrace at Absolute. We appreciate your contribution to Absolute. We are thrilled that you are so happy in your role and we encourage you to continually share your insights and experiences with your manager and peers. Absolute’s current success is due in part to the commitment and innovation of people like you.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Company past its peak with no direction

      Dec 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/life balance Decent and friendly non-management employees Casual atmosphere Good office location accessible by transit

      Cons

      People in management are more interested in pursuing there own interests and keeping their own jobs than actually managing the company and the teams. Extremely poor communication from the management and between departments. Too many decision makers are involved and very little is decided on time. HR severely lacks competency, which results in unquestionable hiring/retaining/review practices, the employee morale hitting all-time low, and non-existent genuine communications with the employees. No consistency in promotion and compensation. Performance review needs a complete change to accurately measure one's performance.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Absolute Response

      Absolute Software

      Thank you for sharing your experience at Absolute. As a current employee, you know firsthand the many changes that have occurred and that are currently underway. With Geoff Haydon, our new CEO on board, we’ve been able to apply a much needed focus to the business. This includes a commitment by the leadership team to make significant improvements across the organization with particular attention to the sharing of information internally. A good example is the new intranet project, which has just kicked off. This will provide a single point of access for everyone at Absolute to stay informed and aware of what’s happening with the business. And our new internal communications person is on board and hard at work creating and maintaining additional infrastructure in this area. All of this work has created some great momentum but we’re still a work in progress and we will continue to rely on the input of everyone that works here to improve. We will be conducting another employee survey in the future to measure our progress, so please continue to provide feedback. Also we would love a chance to speak with you in person to address your concerns. Absolute has an open door policy, and we encourage you to speak with the HR Director or any member of the leadership team.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Changing for the better

      Mar 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolute is in transitional state, presenting itself with new focus. Should be strong growth and opportunities these next few years. Company is family friendly, with a number of events each year, such as Breakfast with Santa at the top of Grouse Mountain and company retreat in the summer. Work life balance is reasonable with flexible hours and personal days.

      Cons

      Compensation is slightly below market for some positions and bonus structure can be argued as being unfair. Office politics are tough to negotiate at times and rumors frequently run rampant through the organization.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Absolute Response

      Absolute Software

      Thank you for your feedback on our compensation and bonus structure. Absolute participates in industry-leading salary surveys including surveys by Towers Watson and Radford. This allows us to benchmark our internal salaries and bonus against the market to ensure we are paying competitively. If you have questions about how compensation is determined, our HR Director would be happy to walk you through the process. With the communication improvements underway, we hope that it will be easier for all employees to be in the loop with what is (and isn’t) happening at Absolute. Our new intranet should be live by the summer along with many other exciting changes happening at Absolute. Please continue to share your opinion with us!

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Uninspiring and Toxic

      Jun 14, 2017 - Sales in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The new offices are "nice". There are some good people who work here. Pretty good work/life balance.

      Cons

      Really too many: this is a hard place to get anywhere in. Sales reorganizes every 6 months or so. HR had become absent when a new head started. Marketing is ineffective and full of conflict. The biggest issue though is the tone from management, the C-levels. CEO came on with some vision but then flopped hard and fell on his face, he's uninspiring and has just surrounded himself with "yes" people. In fact when you look at the new offices one thing you'll note is that the CEO and other CXO's have an office along the windows, where everyone else doesn't. It seems that he's so full of self importance that he demanded a window office where generally he doesn't deserve one.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      An amazing time to work here.

      Mar 7, 2018 - Senior Software QA Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I' worked at Absolute for over a year (I quit as I have to move to another province) and really enjoyed the company culture. Colleagues are friendly , fun , patient and willing to help. The company offers lot of activities allowing employees to have fun after work Working time is flexible and promoting work-life balance.

      Cons

      None - it's a great place to work!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work at

      Oct 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product and good culture. Lots of career opportunities within the company. Management is strong. Clear product roadmap. Work life balance is good. Lots of perks. Reasonably good benefits.

      Cons

      Beer is only once a month.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Absolute Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Absolute? Share Your Experiences

    Absolute logo
    or