Abell Pest Control Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Abell Pest Control Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Abell Pest Control CEO John Abell
John Abell
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best pest control company around if you're passionate about what you do. Take on as much work as you want and build relationships to create sales and extra commission. Great support from the CEO right down to the technician working beside you on a job. Treated fairly and know what you're getting paid

    Cons

    Not a good place if you don't love what you do.

    Advice to Management

    Incompetent technicians should be reprimanded and dismissed more frequently in order to protect the integrity of the Abell brand

    Abell Pest Control2019-02-16
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Sales Representative in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy and uncapped potential with great benefits

    Cons

    It can get very busy and dirty

    Abell Pest Control2019-06-03
  3. "A service company who is focused on sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Abell Pest Control full-time

    Pros

    Vehicle Use,being given a geographical area to deal with

    Cons

    overworked and still expected to cover for those who get 6-7 weeks of vacation a year while still expected to be making sales which there is no time to service

    Advice to Management

    Focus on customer service not sales totals. New accounts mean nothing if current ones are not being serviced properly

    Abell Pest Control2019-05-31
  4. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Job, You have a Truck to yourself, Incentive, good medical and dental benefits

    Cons

    Not a good place for people with Passion for professional growth, the technicians seems to comfortable with no interest in growth and development. No training on selling skills. just expected to sell.

    Advice to Management

    There little or no opportunities for Professional Advancement.

    Abell Pest Control2019-02-12
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment, lots of support from colleagues

    Cons

    I cant think of any at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Abell Pest Control2018-11-14
  6. "Family Comes First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Representative in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It really great to work in a positive and respectful atmosphere

    Cons

    Working alone does get lonely every once and a while

    Abell Pest Control2018-04-17
  7. "Glad to be gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can make a lot of money if you out in big hours. Perks include company truck, benefits and vacation (if you actually manage to take time off)

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations from management; inconsistent instructions from management; foolish agendas and campaigns from head office that waste time; managers expect you to do the quickest work possible and sacrifice quality; employees who do well in sales can pretty much get away with murder; I could go on, but why bother.

    Advice to Management

    They already know what they need to fix - they just won't.

    Abell Pest Control2018-04-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Treated well by management Great benefits Opportunity to increase earnings with commissions Made to feel like you are part of the family

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a disconnect between head office and the branches.

    Abell Pest Control2018-02-20
  9. "Family run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time

    Pros

    The people work hard and care about what they do

    Cons

    More training when you start would be helpful

    Advice to Management

    More training and explanation of the job up front would make better employees

    Abell Pest Control2018-02-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not perfect but really good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Route Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abell Pest Control full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Flexibility of schedule, as long as you're doing your job properly and get your work done they leave you alone (for the most part). When the workload allows, you are able to have light, easy days. -I can't speak for every branch, but for the most part if you need something to make your job easier/better/more efficient they will provide it for you -Great job security, especially knowing that the company won't get sold...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Working for national clients is brutal. They pay peanuts and expect the moon. Too much focus on large clients at the national level, while local, better paying accounts suffer or eats into YOUR personal time. - Can be very long days with little remuneration for it. I don't mind working the occasional long day but it's often to your detriment. Very unpleasant work hours depending on the season or the client. -The "warranty"...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have more employee surveys. We all have a lot to say, but I can't remember the last time I was asked. Fortunately I've had the foresight to delete everything I've put in this section so as to not air dirty laundry in public. But there's quite a bit that employees are pining to say.

    Abell Pest Control2017-11-21
Found 45 reviews