ATCO Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATCO Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
ATCO CEO Nancy C. Southern
Nancy C. Southern
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance for a construction job(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good people to work with, lots of opportunity to prove yourself(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Old school who fake their values(in 6 reviews)

  • "Too much red tape, most employees do not know the basics of their work(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time

    Pros

    great people team culture management

    Cons

    nothing I can think of really

    ATCO2019-02-08
  2. "work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly and very safe workplace

    Cons

    lower wages and not so great benefits

    ATCO2019-08-06
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees Attractive benefits and competitive compensation

    Cons

    Too often top down management of day to day operations.

    ATCO2019-07-23
  4. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Calgary, AB

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, not much other pros exist

    Cons

    Refusal to pay to market, refusal to change, everyone overworked and underpaid.

    ATCO2019-07-30
  5. "Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATCO full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with, lots of opportunity to prove yourself

    Cons

    It feels like ATCO is a little unsure of itself right now and how to continue to be successful.

    ATCO2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Slowly Deteriorating Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    I worked at ATCO for over 6 years, very poor culture and morale over the past couple years and getting worse, CEO is a loon, runs around all blinged out with a couple runt dogs, 2nd generation family leadership running the company slowly into the ground, senior leadership are older generation who have been with the company for 25+ years and never worked anywhere else so stick around because they can't find anything else...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to middle management, get rid of senior leadership old cronies of family ownership and ancient board members. Bring the company into the 21st century.

    ATCO2019-07-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analayts in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sounds good on paper but .....

    Cons

    I worked at ATCO for 6 years and since leaving I have been checking in from time to time. There were so many great people I worked with but they have since moved on or were tossed by ATCO in favor of mediocrity...those that didn't rock the boat. ATCO's share price is down, poor CEO leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Need a new CEO to change the corporate culture.

    ATCO2019-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "ATCO has issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Change Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - lots of great people working there - most management was quite good, despite the downfall in training processes - salary levels are good -

    Cons

    My time at ATCO was marred by the fact that the woman who hired me was leaving on vacation for one month two days after I started. I suspect she needed someone there because she was going on vacation. There was minimal training provided for using the database which was a big part of the job.

    Advice to Management

    Develop an excellent training program and provide workers with an individual who is there to help guide you on your way. It was quite brutal really. I declined another job offer I had on the same day because this was a permanent role - bad decision on my part.

    ATCO2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Severly Broken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fundamentally good people, good hours and benefits. No shortage of work.

    Cons

    Highest levels of management are unhealthily disconnected from the "working class" of the company causing issues such as lack of trust, confusion and lack of direction. Company promotes an air of balance and good intentions with messaging toward "ATCO Heart and Mind", innovation, employee engagement, etc. At the same time real life decisions are made that contradict the message, like shared office spaces, constant reorganization,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk. What executive management promotes via the company intranet is often not what is reflected by the decisions that are made.

    ATCO2019-06-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ATCO full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good young work force, 37.5 hour weeks

    Cons

    Bad management. Trying to push change from the bottom up, but no one has any real power but management to affect that change. Too much red tape, most employees do not know the basics of their work.

    ATCO2019-06-26
Found 165 reviews