ATCO Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATCO Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
61%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
ATCO President, CEO and Director ATCO and Canadian Utilities Nancy C. Southern
Nancy C. Southern
88 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Old school who fake their values(in 6 reviews)

  • "Middle management is inefficient, does not communicate effectively and there is no accountability(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people who care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Summer Student in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good hours - Good pay for a student summer job - Happy to go to work everyday -given autonomy as long as i got the work done

    Cons

    Even though my main job task was hard of the heart, I still loved my job and employer.

    ATCO2019-11-12
  2. "Worked as an analyst for ATCO in 2007"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ATCO part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people and friendly supervisors

    Cons

    Boring as there is not a lot of work sometimes

    ATCO2020-03-01
  3. "Unfulfilling as just another job for a bit more cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Competitive to adopt new ideas as the company is in a stalemate with competitors. - They're stock has been growing as of global trends so they're at least on par - not really now that they're affected by the global viral outbreak, so this is a moot point

    Cons

    - "Just get it done" attitude by management giving few to no care in detail from actual heavy lifters - Management spiderweb so dense, there's more management spinning make-work than actual workers - You can expect the same typical company culture, events, social promotional things from this as any other large company which does not make them stand out

    ATCO2020-03-09
  4. "Wasted potential, could be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are decent

    Cons

    ATCO makes money in spite of itself. The culture of nepotism and bullying from the very top influences every decision. It is inappropriate for the Chair of the Board to also be the CEO. If a proper CEO was in place, so much unnecessary and pointless work and micromanaging, done to please the owner and her irrational whims, could be avoided.

    Continue reading
    ATCO2020-02-26
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carpenter in Kelowna, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ATCO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great wage great group of people

    Cons

    None,that I can think of

    Continue reading
    ATCO2020-01-21
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Junior Business Analyst 

    I have been working at ATCO part-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for, everyone is friendly, cares about their employees.

    Cons

    The direction of the company is constantly changing.

    ATCO2020-01-20
  7. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator in Sheerness, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coal power is cheap AF

    Cons

    Coal gets in your lungs.

    Continue reading
    ATCO2019-11-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at ATCO full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment, beautiful head office, decent work/life balance

    Cons

    Benefits aren't as good - most are employee-paid, so negotiate a higher base salary when joining because you will see a lot of deductions. Middle management is inefficient, does not communicate effectively and there is no accountability.

    ATCO2019-11-22
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    really good people to work with

    Cons

    Low trust in Management and upper management

    Continue reading
    ATCO2019-10-12
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Cult of Personality, Zero Free Thought"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large, diverse organization. Many career opportunities. Community minded.

    Cons

    Unwieldy management structure. Over governed. Free thought was discouraged; seemed like everyone had to agree with Nancy Southern and her cronies. They preach “family” but are ruthless in terminating loyal, long serving staff.

    Continue reading
    ATCO2019-10-07
Found 163 reviews
</>Embed