ASDA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ASDA Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
337 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly with good pay nice atmosphere(in 162 reviews)

  • "Flexible working hours which was helpful as I was a student so I worked seasonally(in 159 reviews)

Cons
  • "Certain Managers who would not do their own work but got section leaders to do it all for them but then took all the credit(in 160 reviews)

  • "Busy over Christmas, long hours(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager On Duty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ASDA

    Pros

    Training and development on site and off store - absolutely fantastic, practical oriented

    Cons

    extra work load during directors visit within short notice

    Continue reading
    ASDA2016-02-03
  2. "Poor morale and team cohesiveness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pruduce/Dairy/Frozen Associate in Mission, BC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at ASDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible vacation and leaves of absence

    Cons

    Management has unrealistic expectations and never offers positive feedback.

    ASDA2019-09-13
  3. "Decent enough employer but has gotten progressively worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Colleagues - Some great people to work with Career Break - Max 1 year available to staff

    Cons

    Management - Very few managers seem to genuinely care about their staff Salary - Just a bit higher than minimum wage Your told to call everyone a colleague even the managers saying that everyone is equal but the managers don't seem to know this

    ASDA2018-07-25
  4. "Lots of hours and lots to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very accommodating: I had a part time (16h/week) contract, but was offered shift cover to make up more hours. I also worked with a woman who could only do part time and she was not pressured to do more. Keeps you busy running around, and free coffee/tea even food sometimes in the break room. Other colleagues made sure you got our breaks. Were accommodating with holidays.

    Cons

    A bit hectic - sometimes got called to cover shifts with a few hour's notice (though I was welcome to refuse). The work schedule changed each week and wasn't always up to date so I didn't know when I was working unless I found a supervisor to ask. Understaffing was an issue when a trainee manager came in. Left us understaffed at the end of the day or with trainee staff doing supervisor roles.

    Continue reading
    ASDA2016-04-27
  5. "Great step on the ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Produce Assistant in Romford, England

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Regular work Nice people Develops communication skills Teaches teamwork

    Cons

    Sometimes slight lack of recognition

    Continue reading
    ASDA2019-11-14
  6. "Excellent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Elgin, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    See the countryside of the highlands whilst giving great customer service and getting paid for it. Feel independent whilst also working for a large company. Recieve a regular pay cheque. Opportunity to pick up more shifts if you want them. Happy atmosphere and friendly staff.

    Cons

    Zero. The perfect part-time job.

    ASDA2019-11-08
  7. "Great company for being a working student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator/Self Service Host 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed hours, working with a range of people in different departments

    Cons

    sometimes part timers are expected to work hours as if they’re full time

    ASDA2019-11-08
  8. "Working at Asda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/ personal life balance

    Cons

    Not much exposure to other companies/industries due to location in Leeds

    ASDA2019-11-07
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse in London, England

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours great team and management

    Cons

    Night shifts and not much progression

    ASDA2019-11-07
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Cape Town
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    absolutely amazing staff including management

    Cons

    not much to mention other than the salary was not that great

    ASDA2019-11-06
Found 2755 reviews
</>Embed