ASDA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ASDA Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2416 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
ASDA CEO Roger Burnley
Roger Burnley
241 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Section leaders love to bully their staff into doing what they want(in 151 reviews)

  • "Long hours can ask u to do more(in 86 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager On Duty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ASDA

    Pros

    Training and development on site and off store - absolutely fantastic, practical oriented

    Cons

    extra work load during directors visit within short notice

    Advice to Management

    develop outstanding, highly commited and smart collegues instead of recruiting from outside

    ASDA2016-02-03
  2. "Decent enough employer but has gotten progressively worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time

    Pros

    Colleagues - Some great people to work with Career Break - Max 1 year available to staff

    Cons

    Management - Very few managers seem to genuinely care about their staff Salary - Just a bit higher than minimum wage Your told to call everyone a colleague even the managers saying that everyone is equal but the managers don't seem to know this

    ASDA2018-07-25
  3. "Lots of hours and lots to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very accommodating: I had a part time (16h/week) contract, but was offered shift cover to make up more hours. I also worked with a woman who could only do part time and she was not pressured to do more. Keeps you busy running around, and free coffee/tea even food sometimes in the break room. Other colleagues made sure you got our breaks. Were accommodating with holidays.

    Cons

    A bit hectic - sometimes got called to cover shifts with a few hour's notice (though I was welcome to refuse). The work schedule changed each week and wasn't always up to date so I didn't know when I was working unless I found a supervisor to ask. Understaffing was an issue when a trainee manager came in. Left us understaffed at the end of the day or with trainee staff doing supervisor roles.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure there is enough staffing and make sure shift timetables are put out at least 2 weeks in advance.

    ASDA2016-04-27
  4. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grocery Colleague in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good rate of pay - bonus scheme - set days - good holiday rate

    Cons

    - set to one department - days could feel repetitive/same as any other day

    ASDA2019-06-24
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASDA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for a retail job (even if a young age) Overtime available

    Cons

    “Flexible” contract - they can change your shifts with minimal notice

    Advice to Management

    More communication

    ASDA2019-06-24
  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandlers Ford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really enjoyed my time here

    Cons

    none that i can mention

    ASDA2019-06-21
  7. "Good but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chilled Colleague in Bolton, England

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, staff discounts, fun environment

    Cons

    No offer of extra hours

    Advice to Management

    Offer extra hours to staff...15 hours not enough

    ASDA2019-06-21
  8. "Decent work and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Colleague in Dagenham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Able to negotiate preferred hours You always have someone to talk to for help on the job Staff are friendly HR are always helpful

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    ASDA2019-06-21
  9. "Decent pay, slight stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tills in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Nice colleagues Open and clean store

    Cons

    The aggressive shop lifters

    ASDA2019-06-20
  10. "As good as supermarket work can get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freezer Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASDA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid decent and clear communication with the management

    Cons

    They got rid of the range of food available in the staff room

    ASDA2019-06-19
Found 2416 reviews