AO Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
AO CEO John Roberts
John Roberts
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company benefits including SPA and staff discounts(in 28 reviews)

  • "2 gym and subsided Starbucks all this with a great bunch of people makes it a great place to work(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is busy and fast paced so need to be able to work under pressure(in 18 reviews)

  • "long hours, repetitive and low bonuses(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AO part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Friendly co workers

    Cons

    Too much micromanagement Almost impossible to be granted days off

    Continue reading
  2. "Great environment"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Team Member in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AO part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food and drink around the building On site free parking Canteen barbers etc all on site

    Cons

    Management Bad traffic as right near Bolton stadium

    Continue reading

    AO Response

    July 30, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with us – it's really helpful for us to hear this. Wishing you all the best in the future. Thanks - AO


  3. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay increments based on performance Good communication

    Cons

    None to see as of yet

    AO Response

    July 30, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We really try to create an environment where everyone can thrive. We’re proud of it, so it’s great to hear that you like it too.

  4. "Decent company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Junior Creative Designer in Manchester, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    It's a fast evolving company.

    Cons

    These's some lack in inter-team relations.

    AO Response

    July 30, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We’re so glad that you love our culture, but it’s the bold, fun, smart and caring people like you that really bring it to life. So thank you!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Unpleasant working environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office with some good additional work perks. This is a fast-paced company with lots of things happening so there are regular opportunities to get involved with new projects.

    Cons

    In the area in which I worked it was a very unpleasant working environment, lots of internal politics and unprofessionalism. There is no feedback mechanism for poor management and people considered "senior" are able to speak to employees as they please. Staff are treated as disposable.

    Continue reading

    AO Response

    July 30, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review. If you don’t mind, we’d love to hear a bit more about your time with us, as without some specific details, it's really difficult for us to look into the issues you've raised – it’d be great to get some extra feedback so we can offer a better experience for AO’ers in future. Please contact us with any other feedback or suggestions you’d like to share. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to review AO – it’s greatly appreciated.

  6. "Great people, Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic business, constantly in state of growth, lots of opportunity

    Cons

    A culture of continuous improvement can be draining...AO'ers need to be up for a challenge!

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We think our AO’ers are pretty awesome too. That’s because we make a point of hiring super lovely people. We’re so glad that you love our culture, but it’s the bold, fun, smart and caring people like you that really bring it to life. So thank you!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Long hours, poor culture, poor pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office location was great, very easy to get to.

    Cons

    Management were overbearing, hours were extremely long and working additional hours was expected, even though you weren't receiving any extra pay.

    AO Response

    July 28, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear that your time at AO wasn't a positive experience for you. We pride ourselves on our positive culture and are disappointed that you didn't find the work/life balance satisfactory. If you'd like to progress a particular issue further, we have an indepen dent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees which you can reach on 01204 672 601. We'd like for this to be fed back so we can investigate. All the best, AO.

  8. "amazing place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    great commission structure and great people to work with

    Cons

    none that i could name

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    We really try to create an environment where everyone can thrive. We’re proud of it, so it’s great to hear that you like it too.

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Mentally draining"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free chocolate and Starbucks that’s it

    Cons

    From the get go all they talk about is how much money you can earn and it’s easy, It’s not. The staff turn over is ridiculous because you’re sold a dream! It’s not for the faint hearted a lot of people leave because it drains you mentally and physically! It used to be good now its a nightmare some of the managers are nice and there did you like Craig and Adam and usually your assistant manager is nice on your team!

    Continue reading

    AO Response

    June 24, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review. If you don’t mind, we’d love to hear a bit more about your time with us – it’d be great to get some extra feedback so we can offer a better experience for AO’ers in future. Please contact careers@ao.com with any other feedback or suggestions you’d like to share. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to review AO – it’s greatly appreciated.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales executive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AO full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant place to work, fantastic opportunity to make good money.

    Cons

    There is no real cons as long as your happy being on the phone

    AO Response

    June 5, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us – and for reminding us how lucky we are to have all the wonderful things you’ve mentioned. I'm so glad you’re having a great time here at AO. All the best, Vic Rogers (Chief People Officer)

Found 282 reviews
</>Embed