AKUNA CAPITAL Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AKUNA CAPITAL Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really smart people in all departments with a great work ethic and culture(in 8 reviews)

  • "Fast paced, very informative, and extremely fun work(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I still don’t understand day trading as a profession and when I met the traders they seemed really stressed and frustrated(in 4 reviews)

  • "heavy workload, high pressure and less girls(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excited for what is ahead!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Priorities seem straight. Smart and hardworking people who are valued. There seems to be opportunity to grow along with the company because it is growing so much. Work-life balance has positively surprised me - definite sense of understanding that people have lives and interests outside of work, ability to use travel days and leave at normal hours without being shamed. Opportunities to get to know coworkers in social...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not the most diverse workplace, in need of more women specifically, but understand that this is a priority for Akuna.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work - it shows that you care about Akuna and the people here and only have plans to help everyone grow and develop with the company. I look forward to growing with Akuna and seeing what lies ahead.

    AKUNA CAPITAL2019-06-21
  2. "Love working at Akuna!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting work, great leadership, a lot of fun events outside the office and good work-life balance for the industry.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time

    AKUNA CAPITAL2019-06-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company I have ever work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting perks: stocked kitchens and competitive salary.

    Cons

    Extremely poor management. Not everything can be compensated with money. Heavy workload, high pressure Lack of autonomy of employees. It is all about the money. No working from home, no flexible work.

    Advice to Management

    Genuinely care about your employees.

    AKUNA CAPITAL2019-05-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time

      Pros

      In Chicago, I enjoy the city

      Cons

      not much room for growth

      AKUNA CAPITAL2019-01-24
    • "Overall, I enjoyed my time there."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Trader 

        I worked at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time

        Pros

        Really nice people. I made a lot of friends.

        Cons

        Hard to move up, but the money is enough.

        AKUNA CAPITAL2019-01-26
      • Helpful (2)

        "Short-term Growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Software Developer 
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at AKUNA CAPITAL

        Pros

        Some good people. Decent place to learn development given minimal prior software development experience.

        Cons

        Growth ceiling hits after a while. Project scales are small. Depending on team development work might be uninteresting.

        AKUNA CAPITAL2019-02-02
      • Helpful (4)

        "Extremely poor management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time

        Pros

        Company trips, monthly happy hours, daily snacks

        Cons

        Very poor management. Feels like high school

        AKUNA CAPITAL2019-01-22
      • "Trader at Akuna Capital Limited"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time

          Pros

          Amazing, a place that must be visited.

          Cons

          None, there is no negativity.

          AKUNA CAPITAL2018-12-20
        • Helpful (11)

          "Chaotic internal process and no assurance of career stability"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Junior Software Developer in Chicago, IL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Some smart people, average pay in MKT

          Cons

          It is still a start-up company style without structured process. You will often need to figure out ambiguity. The HR globally is manipulated by top management team. The case occur that extending you the offer and they regret and withdraw the offer which is very ridiculous.

          Advice to Management

          For sake of your brand reputation, stop those ridiculous drama

          AKUNA CAPITAL2018-12-27
        • "Growth Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Junior Trader in Chicago, IL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at AKUNA CAPITAL full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          The company is making enough money to go around. They provide a 3-month training program for Junior Traders. They’re looking to expand, and it seems meritocratic.

          Cons

          There aren’t too many cons.

          AKUNA CAPITAL2018-11-23
        Found 65 reviews