AIG Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AIG Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
AIG CEO Brian Duperreault
Brian Duperreault
506 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Looking for job in underwriting field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIG full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A family culture working environment

    Cons

    Pulling off personal line from the market

    AIG2019-07-10
  2. "They demand a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIG full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people are hands down the very best part! The team that I've worked with, some of the best, helpful, knowledgeable people in the Industry. It's been said that AIG trains well and then they loose staff to the competition. That's very true!!!

    Cons

    It's a great company. The COE is amazing!! What bothers me is the lack of direct management training and compensation. After years with the company, I could leave and come back and base starting salary would be better. Thats just sad.

    Advice to Management

    Respect and pay your employees for the loyalty they show!

    AIG2019-08-21
  3. "Compliance business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AIG full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and great prople

    Cons

    Plenty of Room for growth

    AIG2019-05-01
  4. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIG full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    big company, limited promotions

    AIG2019-03-26
  5. "Insecurity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AIG full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Working from home, Vacation days

    Cons

    Managers micromanage Insecurity and feelings of lay offs in the air Office gossip is tolerated Team activities involve supporting it with your own funds - holiday decorations- pot lucks Technology is ancient. Pre dinosaurs

    Advice to Management

    Change your ways and adapt to the market.

    AIG2019-03-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "AIG Actuarial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIG full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, work life balance

    Cons

    Office politics and upward management

    AIG2018-11-15
  7. "QC Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at AIG

    Pros

    Good working and friendly environment

    Cons

    A lot of politics to advance in career

    AIG2018-08-24
  8. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AIG full-time

    Pros

    I absolutely loved my experience at AIG. Amazing work environment, so many opportunities for growth and advancement. Great pay & benefits. There is a lot of work, but you also have a strong support system to back you.

    Cons

    I love learning new software but there is just too many of them. Also, quite the learning curve, it can be a bit overwhelming but like I said previously, the support is there.

    AIG2018-07-27
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AIG full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Low salary in my field.

    AIG2018-07-07
  10. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AIG full-time

    Pros

    Nice place to work and definitely friendly people to work with.

    Cons

    My manager left when I first worked there, took me some time to fit in.

    AIG2018-06-28
Found 4038 reviews
</>Embed