AIDS Healthcare Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AIDS Healthcare Foundation Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
AIDS Healthcare Foundation President Michael Weinstein
Michael Weinstein
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "AHF is a company that you feel you are family(in 22 reviews)

  • "Employees, for the most part, are easy to work with enjoy helping people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Every company will have cons but I don't consider this as hindrance with AHF(in 20 reviews)

  • "And upper management is the same(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "caring, compassionate organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    ethical and compassionate to human rights, caring public health organization, allows employees to grow, team-oriented , encourages employee engagement and input, supportive upper management, went above and beyond during COVID-19 to take care of employees

    Cons

    Overall, the structure of this organization is great

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-03-28
  2. "Metrics are king"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mission goal: underserved communities

    Cons

    No sense of human compassion from management or HR. It's all about the metrics and micromanagement. Pharmacy has, for the most part, been outsourced to centralized out of town / out of state facility in Los Angeles or Florida. Most Dispensing and Clinical functions are no longer a function of the local pharmacy. Doctors are not able to attend clinical education forums if they interfere with clinic hours even by a few minutes. They are not able to keep a Doctor on staff. Every minute / every conversation / every phone call is monitored. Security cameras are reviewed constantly - Orwellian. A Dr note does not excuse a sick day. If it's unscheduled x3 in 90 days you WILL be written up. If you do call in sick you will be scrutinized why. Every interaction with HR or Management is punitive (and cumulative) not restorative: Even if it had been many years since you've been written up - the next encounter is one step closer to being terminated. Scheduled time off is easily canceled based on "the needs of the company." Requested time off is not approved on a timely fashion. Shifts cannot be "traded" between staff members that both agree - schedule is set in stone despite family needs that pop up occasionally.

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-03-13
  3. "Losing Sight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician CPhT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Enjoy working here with the pharmacy and healthcare center. Employees, for the most part, are easy to work with enjoy helping people.

    Cons

    Losing sight of the original mission of AHF. Now the company is doing homelessness issues, over working staff for new certifications. Patients are suppose to be at the top of the list, but that often fails and not because of the local staff. CEO actually said he knows very little about pharmacy, but yet he comes for a site visit and only talks to the HCC. This gets the sad emoji.

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-02-17

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and would like the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@aidshealth.org.

    Continue reading
  4. "Mentally Draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had the opportunity to truly see the impact I was making. It was rewarding to truly impact clients and their retention in care.

    Cons

    The pay is low and a lot of driving is involved. There's a lot you have to do and you may not receive a lot of helpful guidance. When I asked for help I was seen as incapable of doing the job. Additionally, you will be on call regularly therefore having a supportive boss and team truly is helpful.

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-02-11

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and would like the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@aidshealth.org.

    Continue reading
  5. "Staff Pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist in Gardena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nonprofit company, ok benefits but could be better

    Cons

    Little negotiation due to non profit with HR department

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-01-27
  6. "Loved providing help to those in need, no support from HR/DON"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse 

    I worked at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Served mostly patients in need

    Cons

    Employees who work on the floor are very unappreciated and overworked

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-01-29

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and would like the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@aidshealth.org.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good job, Horrible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helping people who are in need

    Cons

    Being overworked, underpaid, and unappreciated.

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-01-11

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and would like the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@aidshealth.org.

    Continue reading
  8. "Run, run as fast as you ca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You help lots of people who really need guidance.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Patient to employee ratio is potential 1400+:1 employee. Has unrealistic expectations with no regard for potential employee burnout.

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2020-01-24

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input and would like the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please contact us at TalentAcquisition@aidshealth.org.

    Continue reading
  9. "Looking to continuously improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health benefit package and the pay rate

    Cons

    The hours and the surrounding demographic

    Continue reading
    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2019-12-15

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive feedback !

    Continue reading
  10. "Sr. Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AIDS Healthcare Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing i can think of

    Cons

    Life and work balance !

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation2019-12-02

    AIDS Healthcare Foundation Response

    March 4, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the positive feedback !

    Continue reading
Found 220 reviews