AGAT Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AGAT Laboratories Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
AGAT Laboratories CEO Allan Kostanuick (no image)
Allan Kostanuick
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "The working environment is friendly and the employees are not monitored by their manager/supervisor(in 8 reviews)

  • "Employment after graduation with no work experience(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, very limited career advancement,(in 15 reviews)

  • "Awful corporate culture and high turnover(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Growth and Opporunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great people to work with and for and the owner genuinely cares for the staff.

    Cons

    None - my experience was rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the wonderful work!

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-03
  2. "Was a great starter job to get office skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Was a great opportunity for office experience.

    Cons

    No room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Look within for employees before searching outside the company.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "AWFUL - Toxic environment and managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician A in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Abslutely nothing. Get a job at Timmy - you'll be better off.

    Cons

    - toxic managment - political environment _ethnic nepotism - low wage (barely above minimum)

    Advice to Management

    Cease and dissist

    AGAT Laboratories2019-08-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "good company to work depends on location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Laboratory Technician in Grande Prairie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    learn new technical skills in a short time.

    Cons

    no raise pay for few years

    AGAT Laboratories2019-06-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good for entry level, but don't stay long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You don't need much experience to be taken in. Good for first time experience. Even though it might say you need good French or English, I found that not to be true.

    Cons

    Huge turnover rate. Nobody stays for long because of low pay. Raises are rare. Limited career growth. Fast paced and can be a stressful environment. They don't hire enough employees, distributing more responsibilities and workload on individuals.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-06-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Thunder Bay, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great peers, good collaboration between non-management staff to make sure goals are obtained.

    Cons

    Poor leadership from the top down. Lack of direction, lack of listening from the senior team. Unable to see the bigger picture. Excessive quality control issues.

    Advice to Management

    Over reaction is not the best practice.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-07-22
  7. "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers and some superiors.

    Cons

    Bullied by coordinators and superiors.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have had experience working with AGAT Labs in some capacity since 2010, and more recently, as a full time employee within the company. I have had experience working with some of the top service providers in the Oil and Gas industry, and I can say for certain, that the level of respect AGAT treats its' employees with is second to none. The management team is some of the hardest working individuals I have ever come... across, and that is what drew me to the company in the first place. You always feel like you are working towards something. The goal of the company is to have their customers feel like family, and I can say for certain, that this is how the majority of their clients DO feel. The new CEO has a way of treating each individual employee like family. She is passionate about hearing employees suggestions, concerns, and always makes you feel like a priority when you request some of her time. She has an open door policy, and will be there when you need her. If you are interested in working hard, and being part of a team that is more like a family, this is the place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to report.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the incredible work.

    AGAT Laboratories2019-03-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    3 days off , benefit after 3 months

    Cons

    Safety is very bad, very toxic environment but manager has no idea about it because they are teacher, technician promoted

    Advice to Management

    Safety if you dont want to compensate for employees in future!

    AGAT Laboratories2019-03-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Work here but be aware of a dictator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AGAT Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    None at all. No raises no everything.

    Cons

    Management won't listen or care about you

    Advice to Management

    Can't advise when you won't listen anyways

    AGAT Laboratories2019-04-04
Found 125 reviews