AES Corporation Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
AES Corporation President & CEO Andrés Gluski
Andrés Gluski
274 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people around the world, who have been with the company for a long time, and care about the company(in 23 reviews)

  • "Supportive rather than competitive work environment(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "This can occasionally hurt work/life balance if unplanned projects require immediate attention(in 26 reviews)

  • "cost cutting initiatives are aggressive(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Contract Position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at AES Corporation

    Pros

    Knowledgeable, willing to train and good support Group

    Cons

    Some division are harder to work with but overall a good firm

    AES Corporation2016-01-31
  2. "Leading the way to a greener future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Business Development in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leading the renewable and energy storage world transformation

    Cons

    Keeping the lights on means 24x7 dedication to customers

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-05-11
  3. "Great Leadership in times of Crisis"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Business Development in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Values-based,Transparent, Resilience, Innovative company, leading the transformation of the industry and helping our customers to achieve a greener energy future

    Cons

    over impacted in the capital markets by our participation in emerging markets that hurt us significantly more than our peers

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-05-07
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO is a human being who cares about people, thinks outside the box and means what he says- rare qualities to find in today's world. Company has great set of assets and investing in new technologies to stay ahead of the curve. Great people around the world, who have been with the company for a long time, and care about the company.

    Cons

    Company operates in a competitive landscape , but that is where innovation should help AES succeed despite competition.

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-04-24
  5. "Great company with great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company offer great salary/benefits package, it puts safety first and cares about the operation.

    Cons

    Sometimes management is out of sights and forget who really drives the company. Not the management. Their medium and low base employees.

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-04-21
  6. "I wouldn’t want to work anywhere else!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation

    Pros

    AES is the total package. Not only are the pay and benefits highly competitive, the flexibility they offer make it an ideal job for a professional who is also raising a family. I would say the biggest perk is the opportunity for growth and development. AES puts a big emphasis on innovation, which means the sky is the limit if you are wanting to learn and contribute.

    Cons

    This is a 24/7 operation. That being said, it can be very demanding at times. The flexibility that is offered during the less critical times makes up for it.

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-04-03
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Our CEO has been doing a great job managing the Covid-19 crisis. He has been hosting weekly company wide calls, offering details about what we are doing for keeping our services on for the benefits of our customers and society in general. He has shown leadership in these unprecedented times and that is very important for all of us in AES.

    Cons

    Very limited downside, great opportunities for growth and for making a difference globally.

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-03-27
  8. "Great place to work and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    AES is an Innovative and agile company, good work and life balance. Company values and culture

    Cons

    Because of Frequent changes in the company sometimes people feel not secure

    AES Corporation2020-03-25
  9. "No thanks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Analyst in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and ethical company

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work

    AES Corporation2020-03-20
  10. "I love my job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Environmental Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AES Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The job is challenging and diverse. My co-workers are great and knowledgeable. We work together well as a group and among other groups in the business unit. I like to feel like I am helpful and I feel that with AES.

    Cons

    We are in the era of right sizing, re-engineering, or re-organizing and for various reasons that is tough on new and current employees.

    Continue reading
    AES Corporation2020-03-18
Found 412 reviews