AEI Consultants Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AEI Consultants Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
AEI Consultants CEO Holly Neber
Holly Neber
10 Ratings
  1. "Project Coordination Dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AEI Consultants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * The proj coord dept is run and managed very well * Excellent team members (work ethic, help each other meet goals and succeed)

    Cons

    * No employee break room * Lack of parking * Required to complete this section more fully, so will just say that no place is perfect.

    AEI Consultants2019-02-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AEI Consultants

    Pros

    This was an insightful and welcoming experience as a first-time internship!

    Cons

    No cons to share about experience

    AEI Consultants2019-01-03
  3. "Project Manaager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AEI Consultants full-time

    Pros

    Easy to work with people.

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets busy, but that's good.

    AEI Consultants2018-12-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Environmental Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AEI Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, learning opportunities, company culture, benefits

    Cons

    Pay (although I was an entry/junior level employee, so perhaps at the higher level this improves significantly)

    AEI Consultants2018-06-06
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great Sweatshop Oportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at AEI Consultants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are pretty nice, but unless you are an owner or have known them since college you can forget about advancement.

    Cons

    The goal seems to be to burn out staff as quick as possible so they will leave and the company can replace them with other marginally skilled newbies.

    Advice to Management

    Bonuses should be based on the performance of the department, not which sales person you happen to get stuck with.

    AEI Consultants2018-06-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AEI Consultants full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has been through considerable growth these past few years. It has lead to increased opportunities for strategic hires and staff diversification on project types. The CEO is committed to a great company culture. There is greater work flexibility and a large diversity of cultures at AEI. Greater than I have seen at other traditional consulting firms. There is a work hard play hard atmosphere and sales... are rewarded for all employees. With the sales reward at all levels, it provides incentives to go out and find more work.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a sales culture and not a traditional engineering or consultant first mentality. The CEO does a good job of trying to balance with support from other executive management staff. There are a number of company growing pains but it is expected from a company that has ramped up so quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build on technical expertise by continuing to encourage AND reward technical presentations, white papers, and work. Without the technical aspect, the sole sales model is a failure.

    AEI Consultants2018-03-07

    AEI Consultants Response

    June 5, 2018CEO

    Thank you for your suggestion - great idea! We are always so proud to share when one of our experts gets published or participates in a presentation. I like the idea of rewarding and recognizing this more intentionally/specifically. Thank you!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Torrance, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AEI Consultants full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, caring, supportive. I have been through a lot with AEI being a manager through 2008, 2009, 2010 was very difficult but so rewarding. I would do it all again.

    Cons

    It is work and can be hard but that's life and I don't think its a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on culture it is important and keeps us moving forward together.

    AEI Consultants2018-02-02

    AEI Consultants Response

    February 21, 2018CEO

    Thank you very much for your support in the focus on culture!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AEI Consultants full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entrepreneurial, Experienced Professionals, Collaborative, Culture Centric

    Cons

    Company growing quickly and is in the daily war for talent. Keep raising the bar but don't compromise quality for empty volume.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course

    AEI Consultants2018-02-02

    AEI Consultants Response

    February 21, 2018CEO

    Thank you for the great advice!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AEI Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, flexible hours and ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Emphasis on quantity over quality.

    AEI Consultants2018-01-18

    AEI Consultants Response

    February 21, 2018CEO

    Thank you very much for the review! Flexibility is a common theme when we ask people what they like about working here. Thank you also for your comments on quantity vs. quality. As we noted in some comments below, we are currently looking at ways to improve our evaluation of quality ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Young staff, high turn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AEI Consultants full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no “ceiling” regarding what position or role you take on, provided your ambition is high enough to compete with the demanding workload. Strong female leadership is present.

    Cons

    Annual bonus is almost non-existent- the company gives each person a $100 bill in a Christmas card. Almost laughable considering the high margins and profit-boasting throughout the year. Junior staff stay on for 1-2 years before leaving due to burnout; obviously there are a few exceptions. This is a better place to work after you’ve received 5+ years experience elsewhere. The CEO seems to genuinely care but is... likely spread too thin to take any comments east of the California border to heart.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bonus structure and profit sharing need re-evaluated. Not everyone fits into a single department and those who are cross-trained simply cannot bonus.

    AEI Consultants2017-12-17

    AEI Consultants Response

    February 21, 2018CEO

    Thank you very much for the review. We are always looking to improve our incentive programs to make sure there is transparency and fairness. To date, we've focused on monthly and quarterly incentives rather than an annual incentive program so that the incentive occurs at the time ...

    Show More
Found 35 reviews