AECOM Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AECOM Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
AECOM President & CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,742 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Limited support from upper management(in 152 reviews)

  • "After 5 years of working to integrate URS into AECOM they just notified everyone that the company is breaking off(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working up north"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Insulator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always have work for me

    Cons

    I work out of town

    AECOM2019-08-17
  2. "good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation EIT in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very good professional good balance

    Cons

    not really, I like to work here

    AECOM2020-02-07
  3. "Oil and gas Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly positive office environment, flexible work hours, free parking, free coffee, management seems to have employees best interest in mind. Getting busier every year.

    Cons

    Some functions critical to the business are very disorganized, processes frequently change, certain leadership lack the required skills. Parent company AECOM does not acknowledge that we exist, and has no problem sewering us in global townhalls. Office staff have to drug test for cannabis even while it is completely legal in Canada. Compensation packages are definitely on the low end for our market which makes it a struggle to retain or attract great employees. Limited budget for pretty much anything.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-02-07
  4. "On par for industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineering Technologist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Possibility to work on interesting projects if you are a ambitious.

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes little to no work, little recognition for a lot of work and most often than not will be overlooked.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-02-20
  5. "Alright Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager/Estimator in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with.

    Cons

    You are just a number. You can be in a meeting with a client and they will pull you out and show you the door.

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-02-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Zero mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dcpp matching, great people, good work life balance, supportive direct manager

    Cons

    No mobility, poor management, less than average pay

    AECOM2020-02-11
  7. "Good People and Company, Pay is below average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Inspector in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are nice and the office is safe get paid for mileage Good Benefits

    Cons

    Pay is below average lots of travel required

    AECOM2020-01-27
  8. "Over all good company but the supervision was not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insulator in Fort McMurray, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people hours were good

    Cons

    It’s not how you do your job but who your friends with no consequences for bullying and Harrasment

    Continue reading
    AECOM2020-01-08
  9. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Junior Structural Engineer Co-op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really loved the work environment, very friendly and easy to approach. By far my favorite office I have worked in thus far. Work load is very reasonable and great mentors around that are easy to approach for help.

    Cons

    Not my favorite location, and has the typical aspects that people may not like working for a big company.

    AECOM2019-12-16
  10. "Millwright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Millwright in Grande Prairie, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Pay is to low for work

    Continue reading
    AECOM2019-12-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4675 reviews