AECOM Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AECOM Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AECOM President & CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,695 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Limited support from upper management(in 150 reviews)

  • "After 5 years of working to integrate URS into AECOM they just notified everyone that the company is breaking off(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working up north"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Insulator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always have work for me

    Cons

    I work out of town

    AECOM2019-08-17
  2. "Great Projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Environmental Project Manager 

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of backlog from oil and gas clients

    Cons

    high turnover rate, no bonus.

    AECOM2019-12-05
  3. "I’ve enjoyed my time at AECOM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - E/I Tech in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good crew to work with.

    Cons

    Wages a little low.

    Advice to Management

    Really take the time to listen to the people working for you.

    AECOM2019-11-25
  4. "Oil sands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Millwright in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at AECOM part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Safe ,good pay, camp work

    Cons

    Short notice at times. Flights paid only from Alberta.

    AECOM2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Talented and hardworking employees - Friendly colleagues - Opportunity to move within the organization

    Cons

    - Management is dollar and shareholder driven - Management cares very little about employee growth and satisfaction - Workload is inconsistent i.e. some staff are overworked while others are under utilized - Expectation for junior to mid-level staff is to be 100% billable - Compensation is average and company does not offer basic cost of living increase - No clear company culture as it is a collection of... companies acquired by AECOM in recent years

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff and keep them happy. In return, they will reward you with productivity and happier clients.

    AECOM2019-11-17
  6. "Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people from legacy companies

    Cons

    no comment on this section

    AECOM2019-10-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good, but be ready for changes every 6 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SH&E Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, independence, work from home, and making your own schedule

    Cons

    Demanding utilization, org change every 6 months, volatile job security

    AECOM2019-10-20
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities since the types of projects are such large scale and work across the public and private sectors

    Cons

    the company is too big

    AECOM2019-09-20
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay , time off , coworkers

    Cons

    Unorganized, no communication , no room for advancement

    AECOM2019-09-10
  10. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cadd Technician in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work Culture is very good and I work with some awesome people across multiple offices. Always some exiting work popping up and the work environment is very flexible.

    Cons

    Salary is very low compared to other firms for the same positions. Also immediate supervisor lacks interest in your career path and is not very encouraging when it comes to training and opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people, yes it maybe cheaper to just continue to replace the people who leave to due to poor pay, but its not good for moral. Recognize their effort and reward them accordingly. Don't just go on what their immediate supervisor reports, sit down with them personally and get a feel for how they are doing,

    AECOM2019-09-03
Found 4548 reviews