AECOM Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AECOM Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4457 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
AECOM CEO Michael S. Burke
Michael S. Burke
1,661 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment and many posibilities for career progresion(in 173 reviews)

  • "Great people with challenging work delivers first class healthcare to our hero's while building a great organization at Defense Health Agency(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "Limited support from upper management(in 146 reviews)

  • "After 5 years of working to integrate URS into AECOM they just notified everyone that the company is breaking off(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working up north"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Insulator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always have work for me

    Cons

    I work out of town

    AECOM2019-08-17
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities since the types of projects are such large scale and work across the public and private sectors

    Cons

    the company is too big

    AECOM2019-09-20
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay , time off , coworkers

    Cons

    Unorganized, no communication , no room for advancement

    AECOM2019-09-10
  4. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cadd Technician in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work Culture is very good and I work with some awesome people across multiple offices. Always some exiting work popping up and the work environment is very flexible.

    Cons

    Salary is very low compared to other firms for the same positions. Also immediate supervisor lacks interest in your career path and is not very encouraging when it comes to training and opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people, yes it maybe cheaper to just continue to replace the people who leave to due to poor pay, but its not good for moral. Recognize their effort and reward them accordingly. Don't just go on what their immediate supervisor reports, sit down with them personally and get a feel for how they are doing,

    AECOM2019-09-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Architect in London, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, some interesting projects

    Cons

    0 workload organization , sometimes you need to work 80 hour weeks, sometimes need to beg for work

    AECOM2019-08-22
  6. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pipeliner 

    I worked at AECOM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good pay for industry

    Cons

    Seemed like there was lots of payroll issues

    AECOM2019-08-27
  7. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estimator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with. Steady workload.

    Cons

    some Manager is good at micro-management.

    AECOM2019-08-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at AECOM full-time

    Pros

    Good staff and office location

    Cons

    A lot of work pressure

    AECOM2019-08-18
  9. "average to good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    average stress level at this company

    Cons

    average coworker help when needed

    Advice to Management

    Try to be better managers and be helpful

    AECOM2019-08-16
  10. "Ran' s experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Manager in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AECOM full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    international platform and diversity of people

    Cons

    below average salary, office politics

    AECOM2019-08-09
Found 4457 reviews