A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group CEO Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Comfortable, relaxed and fun working environment(in 8 reviews)

  • "ASW is a dynamic international company with fast paced business(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Due to the need to turn things around quickly some weeks will be very busy with some long hours required(in 3 reviews)

  • "need to OT on Sat/Sun a few times in a year(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Deisgner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Hong Kong

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice co-workers, stable and comfort work place

    Cons

    Maybe a bit bore if you looking for challenge

    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-20
  2. "Great company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing 
    Recommends

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company culture is great, and management is visionary to drive the business growth for the whole company

    Cons

    Bureaucratic structure may reduce creativity

    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-19
  3. "This company will help you grow the ability to explore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Clerk in Cebu City
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You gonna gain more knowledge to work with them

    Cons

    Challenging on adjusting what you capable off.

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-12

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 15, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and learned a lot in your role. Due to your location, we believe you may have been employed by one of our business units - we will make sure your lovely feedback reaches them. We wish you the best of luck in your future roles.

    Continue reading
  4. "OK For Temporary Employment Solution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Logistics in Ede

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -The people are fairly nice to work with -They hire just about everyone who applies to work in their warehouse and you can start right after your interview/test -Free coffee

    Cons

    -The advertisement for the job was misleading. The ad stated they were looking for order pickers and I was never asked to do this job, but instead, I was led to pack boxes. -Production mandates are high and unrealistic -Training is very poor. This causes for panic when you're responsible for packing 150 articles per hour, yet have to keep running to someone to ask questions because the trainer did not teach how to troubleshoot errors. -Hours are terrible; You either have to be there at 06:45 or work until 00:00, with alternating weeks. -Poorly equipped. I struggle to be able to do my job properly because I rarely have everything I need in order to get it done at the speed required.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-11-21
  5. "Developer in AS Watson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice working environment, flexible working time in elab

    Cons

    need to OT on Sat/Sun a few times in a year. But you could turn the OT days into annual leaves

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-29

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 11, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you’re enjoying your time with us and the benefits we have to offer. We wish all the best for the rest of your A.S. Watson journey!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant finance manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - sizeable company - good exposure - 1.5 lunch hours

    Cons

    - bad company culture

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-19

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 11, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoy the international aspect of our company. If you have any suggestions on how we can improve in other areas you mention, please contact your local HR team – we’d love to hear from you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great please to work and develop your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management always willing to listen Comfortable, relaxed and fun working environment Good benefits If you want to do something different, they'll let you try it. Leader care about your development.

    Cons

    Flat structure, difficult to get a promotion in certain teams Annual leave flexibility is limited. In some departments they're a few people short of what they need to really make a difference.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-13

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 13, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We’re very glad to hear you’re enjoying your time with us and the benefits we have to offer! We value your feedback and will ensure it is passed on to the appropriate team – it’s great to hear you want to make a real difference.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "TERRIBLE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superdrug discount card Some of the employees were really nice (because we shared the same pain)

    Cons

    Terrible management. Absolutely the WORST! Don't let you go on breaks. Force you to do overtime. Sometimes without pay. The manager 'forgot' to pay me for extra hours I did. He promised to pay me soon. I chased after him for ONE WHOLE MONTH and each time he would tell me he'll do it or he forgot. I gave up with him. FORCE you to do SAS when they know the customers don't want the items. The customers will be refusing the product on 'promotion' (it's always the same price) and you'd hear a whisper saying 'pUsH It HaRdEr Ya!' and when the customer is gone, they'd have a word with u. Don't let you pray if you're religious. Give people who hate the till, a permenant till role and the people who hate stacking the shelves, the shelves. That just makes it a less enjoyable experience for everyone apart from management, who spend their day in the staff room watching YouTube videos or on the phone, going on her '2nd break' for the 10th time. Also DO NOT! I repeat, DO NOT work there if ur a student. They treat u like you're worthless. xoxo

    Continue reading
    A.S. Watson Group2019-10-13

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    November 11, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are extremely keen to address your comments. Due to your role, we believe you might have been employed by one of our retail businesses. Please kindly get in touch with us on More@uk.aswatson.com, this will enable us to address your feedback with greater accuracy and support - ensuring we get the right HR team involved. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Continue reading
  9. "alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good progression and pay salary package

    Cons

    no work life balance at all

    A.S. Watson Group2019-09-17

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 8, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your review.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sha Tin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and friendly peers workers. Large local organisation with sufficient resources. Stable working environment.

    Cons

    Management is hierarchical and top down. The size and structure of the group may have made it less flexible, things are processed with a limited speed. Pay rise is slow and benefits are not attractive.

    A.S. Watson Group2019-08-30

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 9, 2019Comms Manager

    Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate seeing the pros as well as the cons in all the reviews on our Glassdoor profile.

    Continue reading
Found 95 reviews