4Ocean Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 42 reviews

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
4Ocean CEO Alex Schulze
Alex Schulze
8 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Dissapointed

    Apr 10, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The facilities was nice. Most employees had aligning beliefs with the company so it was easy to make friends. The CEO's always seemed friendly

    Cons

    A good amount of overpaid execs who would throw most of their upper management work on their employees, who then got overworked and then underpaid. There was a lot of injustice and this dramatic hierarchy in wages for a company that was aiming for such a noble cause.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Low pay. Not at all what I expected.

    Feb 17, 2020 - Social Media Response in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are for the most part very sweet and genuine people My managers don't micromanage Snacks Semi-decent insurance Snacks

    Cons

    Where do I even start? I had high hopes for 4ocean, and I genuinely thought I was going to grow there. After only a few months of being with the company, I've come to realize it really just "ain't it". The social media response position basically involves answering comments and dms on their social media. That's it. You are there to answer questions that are mostly about how the company operates, to setting up replacements for broken bracelets. The sort of questions we get range from the most random sustainability topics (i.e plastic density) to defending the company when anyone leaves a negative comment (we get a lot of those). The problem with this position is that we have very little communication with the actual content creation team, which made me feel like a robot. There's no creative aspect in this position. We were expected to answer a broad range of questions in the most engaging way, with perfect grammar and under the set response time. I can't imagine anyone doing this job for more than a year and a half. We literally type all day. My biggest criticism is that we simply don't get paid enough for the expectation put on the team to constantly give out the best possible answer. I haven't learned any valuable skills here because there are no skills to learn. You learn about 4ocean and how they do their business, and that's about it. There's no SEO, no Google Analytics, no FB Paid Ads, nothing. There is no training on any transferable skills whatsoever, so you really are just wasting your time in this position if you're looking for growth. I was told there was a lot of room for growth when I first started, that's true up to some degree. Like I said, this position gives you no transferable skills, so the positions you could transfer to within the company are sales, purchasing, maybe their cleanups team, but that's about it. For people coming in wanting to "save the ocean" and do something good, do you really want to work your way up to sales?

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Start up culture, run by predatory execs.

    Mar 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of positivity from your coworkers, with plenty of opportunities.

    Cons

    The blame game is strong, and management often finds ways to delegate the pressure down to the bottom. Frequent layoffs leave you feeling as if you could lose your job at any time.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad place to work

    Nov 12, 2019 - Boat Captain 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Time out on the water, seemingly professional organization

    Cons

    Discriminatory work environment where heavy set employees asked to be reassigned days photo shoots occuring. This is a PR company, not a "save the ocean" company.

    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Marketing Coordinator

    Nov 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone there is like minded and there for the mission. There is a high buzzing of positivity and everyone gets along. Everyone is completely oblivious to the online hate and skepticism the company receives.

    Cons

    Don’t expect to learn hard skills here, this is good experience right out of college, very much start up culture but run by ex-corporate vultures. High turn over rate and lots of inter-office drama. Leadership runs in a good cops and bad cop type of hierarchy.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Negative reviews are true.

    Jul 30, 2019 - Customer Care Advocate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Education company and they do have fun events.

    Cons

    Most of the reviews from March-May were from employees urged by the management team to write embellished and positive reviews to really sell how great 4ocean is. With this, I do not have that many positive to say. All of the negative reviews are true, there is favoritism, the employees can be unfriendly and in a clique at times. Customer service could use a raise due to the sheer amount of work and no appreciation.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Job I’ve ever had!

    Apr 17, 2019 - Sales Coordinator in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have never worked for a company that genuinely cares more about their employees than 4ocean. I feel respected, appreciated, and challenged every day and sincerely like coming to work! There are so many perks including very flexible work hours, relaxed dress code, and they even make a fun events calendar every month where there are such events as donut breakfasts, bring your dog to work day, pizza parties and so much more! The compensation and benefits are fantastic and you can tell that 4ocean truly believes in a work life balance for their employees. I love everyone I work with and I’m helping to save the world, what could be better than that?!

    Cons

    Limited parking and not a ton of sunlight in the building are the only cons I can even think of- and even calling those “cons” is a stretch!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Eye- opening experience

    Apr 10, 2019 - Social Media Specialist in Delray Beach, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    THIS COMPANY IS NOT A SCAM. Wonderful, interactive environment. Super friendly employees, and opportunities everywhere. I've been with this company for over a year and have watched it evolve from a cool company with a great mission to an inspiring company who is making change. I'm proud to be a part of such an amazing team of people who want to educate everyone on the issues the ocean is facing and create a change in this word.

    Cons

    Customer service/ social media only get 30 minute lunch breaks when everyone else get's a full hour. They don't get al holidays off that everyone else does, but they do get holiday pay.. but so does everyone else. PTO is a little sparse.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Professional yet fun workplace

    Apr 11, 2019 - Social Media Response Team 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at a good number of places and I must say that 4ocean has been the best job I've had to date. Upper management is professional yet friendly with an open door policy always. They provide good feedback so that you can learn and grow within the company. Each month there's fun, informative and team building activities with free food. They also really go up and beyond to make sure their employees are happy. Things are always changing at this company but definitely for the better.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The best up and coming millennial company.

    Apr 11, 2019 - Brand-Outreach Specialist in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started out as an intern here a little over a year ago and it was a great experience. I've seen the company grow drastically from about 40 employees to now almost 150. Once I finished my internship, I was then offered a full-time job here. At the time, I was still in school and they were very understanding with my schedule to where I was still working full-time and going to school which worked out perfectly. I've had great mentors here and if you're passionate about the company and what you do they really want to see you succeed. We also have fun work events for each month like bring your dog to work day, team building luncheon's, and fitness Friday. I enjoy working with everyone here and it is a friendly work environment that makes it enjoyable to come to work every day.

    Cons

    The only con I have is sometimes communication isn't always there but as we continue to grow I hope that everyone can be on the same page.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 21 - 30 of 39 Reviews

Work at 4Ocean? Share Your Experiences

4Ocean logo
or