451 Agency Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 74 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
451 Agency Founding Partners AJ Gerritson & Nicholas Lowe (no image)
AJ Gerritson & Nicholas Lowe
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive management, work/life balance, opportunities for women, flexibility(in 4 reviews)

  • "At 451 Marketing, there is a large opportunity for growth and paving your own career path(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Although we weren't fetching coffee or making copies, you really feel like just an intern at 451(in 5 reviews)

  • "cliquey(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    3,037

    254 Comments

    Advertising

    101.2K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=451 Agency~485944
    Join the conversation on
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      There is a lot to learn and to teach, I love my career .

      Apr 2, 2019 - Registered Nurse in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weather, money, change, Explore and

      Cons

      I don't know how to speak French

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fun Company

      Apr 20, 2021 - PR Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fun, youthful company - Promote from within - Room for growth

      Cons

      - Not strong client list, lots of project-based work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall a good experience

      Feb 16, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the work I was doing and the people I was doing it for. Decent amount of room for growth

      Cons

      Pretty cliquey and compensation was not great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Security

      Jul 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work ethic and ready

      Cons

      None no issues and ready

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Maybe not.

      Nov 21, 2019 - Creative in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly people, fun work, nice clients. Good work-life balance.

      Cons

      Lots of drama and animosity between departments. Some weird sexual harassment vibes coming from higher management. Compensation is below par.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Was good first time experience

      Sep 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot Good for after college

      Cons

      Additional snacks would be nice

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      451 Agency Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for your review. We are happy you were able to gain a valuable experience with us. We wish you luck!

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to begin a career

      Aug 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very hands-on learning Close-knit teams Some of the smartest people you’ll work with Managers care and support junior employees Always an opportunity to learn

      Cons

      Unbalanced focus on departments Unclear growth plans/requirements for promotion Salaries under market value Lack of communication from senior management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      451 Agency Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for your feedback on your time with us! We are happy to provide you a great start to your professional career. Our employees are some of the most talented and because of that we are able to provide positive collaboration and great learning opportunities for all our employees. We have always kept open communication at the forefront of our business model and have continuously expanded our ways in doing so. Some of the examples are monthly company meetings, yearly employee surveys, open door policies, and partner office hours. Promotions and career growth conversations are heavily encouraged by the agency. To be sure this happens, we have established 2 formal reviews a year to help create this dialogue between manager and employee. Again, we sincerely value your feedback. Please feel welcome to contact HR at 617-259-1605 at any time to discuss any of these things in depth. We’d love to hear more about your experience. We wish you the best of luck!

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Tough environment but good for experience

      Jul 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good experience for entry-level employees as there's a wide variety of clients and tasks across teams -Occasional interesting/cool clients -Generally nice people at the lower levels -Agency experience is likely to help you get another job in the future so if you're young, it might be worth putting in the time -This place has potential but it needs to come from the top

      Cons

      -They work you to the bone and constantly tell you you need to be on top of your email at all hours and should expect to work crazy hours if you want to get promoted -Upper management ranges from people who don't care about employees at all to people who are downright mean to lower level employees -Mid level managers are really young, likely because they're cheaper. They aren't trained properly and are expected to be perfect -In the eyes of managers, the client is always right even at the expense of the employee -There's an underlying feeling of stress throughout the agency -Lots of turnover which makes it hard to get in a good flow and it lowers morale when respected employees leave

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      451 Agency Response

      HR Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience working with us. We appreciate hearing from our present and past employees on their experiences so we can identify areas that need improvement. I’m happy that you were able to work with some enjoyable clients and employees. We take pride in our employees and are very proud of all the hard work and creativity that they put into making our clients happy. I’m sorry that you had some negative experiences during your time here. Agency life has always been a fast-paced environment and it is always changing, and we recognize that. If at any time an employee is feeling they are being treated unfairly, burnt out, or in need of additional help we encourage them to have an open dialogue with their manager. If that is not an option, HR is always available to help mediate. If you would like to discuss any of these items further we would love to hear from you. Please contact HR at 617-391-9409. Again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you the best of luck!

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Positive place to work but lacking in some communication basics.

      Jan 18, 2018 - Art Director in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive management, work/life balance, opportunities for women, flexibility.

      Cons

      A few too many junior-level resources, and lack of diversity of experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Small yet BIG

      Oct 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small agency feel with big potential. You feel like you're making a difference. Senior management and partners are great.

      Cons

      Pay is competitive yet on the lower end.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

    Popular Careers with 451 Agency Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at 451 Agency? Share Your Experiences

    or