3M Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
375 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be a little difficult at first but you get a rhythm(in 55 reviews)

  • "The full time program is a 4 year commitment(in 45 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place with Great Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Customer Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Benefits -Great coworkers -Best managers I've worked for

    Cons

    -Work-life balance can be a little difficult at first but you get a rhythm

    Continue reading
    3M2020-02-27

    3M Response

    March 2, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed working for 3M and really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

  2. "It is a good place to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Great Benefit Great work environment

    Cons

    Long hours work work life balance

    3M2020-02-02
  3. "Horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Aberdeen, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and pay were nice

    Cons

    Management only cares about themselves. Not a good work life balance. HR rep is out of control and very unprofessional if you're alone in a room with him. Gossip is insane. Management does care about you they only care about making themselves look good.

    Continue reading
    3M2019-12-02

    3M Response

    December 9, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear of the items you’ve listed here, and have passed this review on to HR in Aberdeen. We really appreciate you sharing this with us.

  4. "Nice place to work with great benefits, but sometimes work can be stale"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Electrical Engineering Intern in Maplewood, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with Great company and work was rewarding

    Cons

    3M is behind in some sense in technology Work/life balance in engineering can be long some days

    3M2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Data Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scrum Master in Minneapolis, MN
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, industry standard pay scales.

    Cons

    3M preaches Work-Life balance, but, this was not the case in my department

    3M2019-10-07

    3M Response

    October 11, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you felt you didn't have the work-life balance you were looking for during your time at 3M, and really appreciate your feedback.

  6. "Fair if you don't mind rotating shifts."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in New Ulm, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent wage. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Rotating Shifts. Little work-life balance.

    3M2019-09-26

    3M Response

    September 27, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

  7. "Senior Engineering Level"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Peers and clean work environment

    Cons

    Biased managers, insensitivity of management regarding toxic work environments, poor work life balance etc.

    Continue reading
    3M2019-09-23

    3M Response

    September 27, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you feel as though management was biased and insensitive while you were working with 3M, and really appreciate you sharing this with us.

  8. "Great company, great benefits -- but lacking in work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer Analyst in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company provides tremendous benefits, very competitive salary with what is offered in the role and position versus other companies. HR makes effort to provide events that would motivate employees on a regular basis.

    Cons

    Going back from work on time makes you look like a villain in the team. People are always working beyond the normal working hours, rendering 2-3 hours overtime on average. The company often preaches about work-life-balance however the work, on top of doing everything else that is sometimes not work-related, including all sorts of activities for 'growth' makes one easily get overwhelmed with work on a daily basis. If you are single/fresh grad/workaholic then this company is right for you. If you seek a balanced lifestyle where you get to work from 8am to 5pm and go home without worrying about work and not having to bring work back home, then I suggest you find other companies to work for.

    Continue reading
    3M2019-08-13
  9. "Job experience"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a conglomerate so can over exposer to different businesses

    Cons

    No growth , no work life balance

    3M2019-02-22

    3M Response

    March 8, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are sorry to hear that you don't feel like you have the ability to grow within 3M and are struggling with work/life balance. We would encourage you to reach out to your manager to talk through some of your concerns. Wishing you the best!

  10. "3M really treats its contractors and employees poorly"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    None whatsoever to speak of

    Cons

    Bad culture, overworked employees, bad work life balance

    3M2019-01-30
Found 55 reviews
</>Embed