3M Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
349 Ratings
  1. "Great working environment and team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Tech Aide in Maplewood, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with are great people, lots of room for career growth at 3M, extremely flexible hours, great job to have while in school.

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes overly simple and dull work.

    3M Response

    July 10, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy working for 3M, and really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic company for those who mean serious business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    What I like the most about working at 3M is all the incredibly smart, hard-working people you get to meet and work with. There's not a lot of time or money spent in frivolities here, so if you want silly perks, huge admerch budgets and a lot of fun & games, this is definitely NOT the place for you. On the other hand, if you're not intimidated by science, you want to learn a lot, get your hands dirty and handle very complex products often harshly challenged by cheaper, crappier versions of them, this is the place for you. People in general are very nice and you can make friends here however. If you're smart and work hard, you will find a lot of opportunities to grow, but they seldom come to knock at your door. You have to network and sell yourself, which is very hard for some of us and very easy for those who often deserve less. Overall, a great company, more diverse than most because it's Global, but with work to do in the diversity department still.

    Cons

    2 things: - I wish 3M tried harder to detect and recognize work truly well done and good employees. In general (there are exceptions), if you're not as talented a self-promoter as you are an employee, don't play the squeaky wheel game wisely or have an Ivy League education, you might be eternally overlooked for promotions or sexier assignments (my boat is more rocked by increasing responsibilities than increasing pay, but that's me), no matter what your successes and accomplishments are. This can be especially true with women and minority employees. In the company there are still big pockets with a total old boys' club mentality - I wish creativity and thinking outside the box was rewarded and encouraged beyond the R&D functions. Considering our budgets, it is very important to be creative in all functions, especially Marketing. We need more doers and more people willing to think and do things differently.

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    July 10, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoy working here, but are concerned to hear that you feel there is a "boy's club" mentality and that some management is manipulative. We would encourage you to sit down with your HR partner to talk through these concerns. We really appreciate you sharing this with us.

  3. "Great Place to Work Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Specialist in Panamá

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Is a Company were everybody work as a team

    Cons

    Is company that have a lot of meetings

  4. "."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Portfolio Manager in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work in.

    Cons

    Giant company with several processes to navigate.

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    July 10, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy working for 3M and really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

  5. "3M HIS is a good place to start your career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Small teams. Good management. Learning opportunities such as Udemy subscriptions.

    Cons

    Poor salaries. Low PTO. Old technology. Lots of seniors that dictate what goes based on personal opinions and not necessarily on technical needs.

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    July 10, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.

  6. "Some good people despite poor managers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - there is a lot to learn, programs for employees to develop and learn - great people

    Cons

    - poor managers who don't know how to manage - bad processes and systems, very manual - confusing job responsibilities between local and regional teams

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Pay, Work life balance

    Cons

    Internal Support, opportunities for advancement

    3M Response

    July 10, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy working for 3M and really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Need so many improvements"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Equal Opportunities, Mobility from one business to other

    Cons

    Ignorant HR, Short term planning, No employee engagement, No efforts on talent retention

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    July 10, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you felt as though 3M's HR and management was not supportive during your time with 3M. We strive for all employees to feel safe and included, and all managers to be well-versed in compliance. Thank you again - we appreciate your feedback.

  9. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company with a heart and does the right thing

    Cons

    May have many long serving staff who are set in their ways

    3M Response

    July 6, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed working for 3M overall and really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

  10. "Wish I still worked there"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Operator in Forest City, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Great incentives Great jobs and they let you vary what you do

    Cons

    You have to start on 2nd or 3rd shift and work until there's a 1st opening

    3M Response

    July 6, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed working for 3M and really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

Found 2545 reviews
</>Embed