3M Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

3M Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2581 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
179 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "More conservative when it comes to working remotely which impacts work/life balance - basically working from home is frowned upon by management(in 48 reviews)

  • "If we need contract workers all the time, then the position should be full time 3M especially in customer facing positions(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Personal development opportunities are everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Accepted as you are, inclusive environment, high integrity and a very ethical company, relaxed dress code, high profile in the community for giving back. Pays very well in London ,ON

    Cons

    Not all teams can work remotely-yet!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in the community and with developing your teams.

    3M2019-04-12

    3M Response

    April 16, 2019Communication Specialist

    Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review! We are happy to hear that overall you are enjoying your time with 3M and appreciate your feedback.

  2. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary, pension, benefits. Shift premium rate on 12 hour shifts.

    Cons

    Long hours, 12 hour days. 24/7. Work every other weekend.

    3M2019-01-16
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scale, innovation, differentiation, people culture

    Cons

    Publicly traded = slave to quarterly earnings, slow corporate processes

    3M2019-05-26
  4. "Not great, unless you're into playing politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Robust company, nice spaces to work

    Cons

    The company is huge so you can't really paint the whole picture from one experience. But the impression I got was that there were a lot of managers/supervisors who didn't really do much, while contract workers who actually did the work were in a conveyor belt of being laid off. If you were politically skilled you might have a shot at getting into the company, but that was rare. The irony does not go unnoticed when...

    Show More
    3M2019-06-06

    3M Response

    June 7, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you felt that you had a negative experience with 3M. We really appreciate your feedback and wish you the best in the future.

  5. "A company that employees great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Relevancy across multiple market segments, career growth opportunities, and a focus on people and culture

    Cons

    Head office in London Ontario, and not a major center. However sales opportunities across the country.

    3M2019-05-10
  6. "General Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Interesting product lines, non-management employees generally good to work with.

    Cons

    Big wheel that is hard to turn. Some managers should be fired for incompetency. Hire great people who know what they are doing, to turn around and tell them how to do their job. Some are clueless.

    Advice to Management

    Step down, you know who you are...time for people with ethics to take the stage.

    3M2019-05-20
  7. "Manager (client facing)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Great people, positive attitude, good athmosphere. Working from home options

    Cons

    None that I can report as really cons

    3M2019-04-29

    3M Response

    May 3, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy working for 3M and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

  8. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - lots of work to do! They keep you busy - Opportunities to work on a variety of projects - can decide projects to some extent - Give you a lot of freedom to make the projects in your own vision

    Cons

    - My team didn't get along very well, but I think it was specific to my department

    3M2019-03-30

    3M Response

    April 5, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your internship with 3M and really appreciate you sharing your feedback.

  9. "Regional sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Good structure, Develops their people,

    Cons

    Recirculates employees and does not ackowledge career trajectory

    Advice to Management

    Maintain employee trajectory

    3M2019-03-29
  10. "Regional Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at 3M full-time

      Pros

      Benefits package well above average.

      Cons

      Lack of upward mobility outside London, ON.

      3M2019-03-11

      3M Response

      March 18, 2019Employment Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you are enjoying your time with 3M and appreciate your feedback.

    Found 2581 reviews