3M Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

3M Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3074 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
235 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Falta um plano de carreira para equipe de promotores e vendedores(in 64 reviews)

  • "More conservative when it comes to working remotely which impacts work/life balance - basically working from home is frowned upon by management(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Personal development opportunities are everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Accepted as you are, inclusive environment, high integrity and a very ethical company, relaxed dress code, high profile in the community for giving back. Pays very well in London ,ON

    Cons

    Not all teams can work remotely-yet!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in the community and with developing your teams.

    3M2019-04-12

    3M Response

    April 16, 2019Communication Specialist

    Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review! We are happy to hear that overall you are enjoying your time with 3M and appreciate your feedback.

  2. "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, ON
    Recommends

    I have been working at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, well established processes

    Cons

    Nothing by now. Great company

    3M2019-05-22
  3. "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large company, a great place to grow and develop. Good company culture Good leadership

    Cons

    Big company so making any change is slow. Lots of red tape. Average pay

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job benchmarking against similar businesses which means not benching the entire company against another industrial manufacturer.

    3M2019-07-05
  4. "Room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineering Intern 

    I worked at 3M for more than a year

    Pros

    - apparent diverse opportunities - friendly culture

    Cons

    - big company - business appears to be moving out of canada

    3M2019-06-24
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scale, innovation, differentiation, people culture

    Cons

    Publicly traded = slave to quarterly earnings, slow corporate processes

    3M2019-05-26
  6. "A company that employees great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Relevancy across multiple market segments, career growth opportunities, and a focus on people and culture

    Cons

    Head office in London Ontario, and not a major center. However sales opportunities across the country.

    3M2019-05-10
  7. "General Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Interesting product lines, non-management employees generally good to work with.

    Cons

    Big wheel that is hard to turn. Some managers should be fired for incompetency. Hire great people who know what they are doing, to turn around and tell them how to do their job. Some are clueless.

    Advice to Management

    Step down, you know who you are...time for people with ethics to take the stage.

    3M2019-05-20
  8. "Great culture that promotes a positive mindset."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 

    I have been working at 3M

    Pros

    Leadership is well trained (as leaders), very cooperative, positive and fast paced environment. Good pay. Ability to grow (in the sales side, not on the operational side)

    Cons

    Especially entry level jobs (contract terms), they use people to get very basic operational work done and as soon as things are automatized they let them go, it is still a great opportunity to get exposure and make a big accomplishment to land in as a full time.

    3M2019-04-30
  9. "Manager (client facing)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Great people, positive attitude, good athmosphere. Working from home options

    Cons

    None that I can report as really cons

    3M2019-04-29

    3M Response

    May 3, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoy working for 3M and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

  10. "Electrical Engineer Intern for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M

    Pros

    Critical thinking, nice environment, and a great learning atmosphere.

    Cons

    Everything here is perfect and hope to be here again.

    3M2019-04-09

    3M Response

    April 12, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your internship so much, and also hope you'll be able to continue your career as a 3Mer! We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, and wish you the best of luck with the ...

    Show More
Found 3074 reviews