3M Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

3M Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexability , focus on work life balance(in 170 reviews)

  • "Takes care of its employees, once you're in you are solid, good benefits, extremely ethical(in 134 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Personal development opportunities are everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Accepted as you are, inclusive environment, high integrity and a very ethical company, relaxed dress code, high profile in the community for giving back. Pays very well in London ,ON

    Cons

    Not all teams can work remotely-yet!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in the community and with developing your teams.

    3M2019-04-12
  2. "A company that employees great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Relevancy across multiple market segments, career growth opportunities, and a focus on people and culture

    Cons

    Head office in London Ontario, and not a major center. However sales opportunities across the country.

    3M2019-05-10
  3. "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large company, a great place to grow and develop. Good company culture Good leadership

    Cons

    Big company so making any change is slow. Lots of red tape. Average pay

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job benchmarking against similar businesses which means not benching the entire company against another industrial manufacturer.

    3M2019-07-05
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scale, innovation, differentiation, people culture

    Cons

    Publicly traded = slave to quarterly earnings, slow corporate processes

    3M2019-05-26
  5. "General Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Interesting product lines, non-management employees generally good to work with.

    Cons

    Big wheel that is hard to turn. Some managers should be fired for incompetency. Hire great people who know what they are doing, to turn around and tell them how to do their job. Some are clueless.

    Advice to Management

    Step down, you know who you are...time for people with ethics to take the stage.

    3M2019-05-20
  6. "Manager (client facing)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Great people, positive attitude, good athmosphere. Working from home options

    Cons

    None that I can report as really cons

    3M2019-04-29
  7. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - lots of work to do! They keep you busy - Opportunities to work on a variety of projects - can decide projects to some extent - Give you a lot of freedom to make the projects in your own vision

    Cons

    - My team didn't get along very well, but I think it was specific to my department

    3M2019-03-30
  8. "Regional sales manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Good structure, Develops their people,

    Cons

    Recirculates employees and does not ackowledge career trajectory

    Advice to Management

    Maintain employee trajectory

    3M2019-03-29
  9. "Regional Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at 3M full-time

    Pros

    Benefits package well above average.

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility outside London, ON.

    3M2019-03-11
  10. "Finance dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for advancement and benefits.

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of.

    3M2019-03-10
Found 2773 reviews
</>Embed