3M Machine Operator Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
72%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Exactly what it is."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    pay Benefits Weekends off Salary Breaks Hours This company pays well.

    Cons

    no movement. Money trap. Management. Hr. Doesn't trust employees.

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    June 19, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Job for Right Temperament"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Aberdeen, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, professional and respectful treatment from management, good and comprehensive training, good system of P.T.O., excellent communication, great help from mechanics and technicians when needed. High value and focus on safety. It is the kind of job where you can show up and put in your time then leave work at work when you go home.

    Cons

    Very monotonous work with no variety, periods of mandatory overtime both regularly during the week and occasionally on weekends depending on product demand; I worked about 64 hours per week over several weeks in a row over several stretches and compounded with rotating shifts, this left me burned out. There was also occasional frustration with the machines. In my department on my crew, there were some employees who slacked off and I had to pick up the slack more than I’ve experienced at any other job (though talking to people in other departments, this seemed particular to my crew than the rest of the factory). On feet during whole shift on hard surface, but a good pair of shoes with supportive insoles took care of this for me.

    3M Response

    April 20, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed working for 3M and really appreciate your feedback.

  3. "Just ok"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Aberdeen, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Only decent place in town for work.

    Cons

    Long hours, high overtime. Management awful, very buddy buddy.

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    May 4, 2020Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you felt as though work/life balance and management could have been improved during your time with 3M. We have passed this review on to HR in Aberdeen and appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

  4. "Horrible"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Aberdeen, SD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and pay were nice

    Cons

    Management only cares about themselves. Not a good work life balance. HR rep is out of control and very unprofessional if you're alone in a room with him. Gossip is insane. Management does care about you they only care about making themselves look good.

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    December 9, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to hear of the items you’ve listed here, and have passed this review on to HR in Aberdeen. We really appreciate you sharing this with us.

  5. "The company pays well generally."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Brookings, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good health care benefits, few nice people, a lot of money due to overtime on the machine. Earned double sometimes when am available to work.

    Cons

    Long hour schedule. Work 12 hour days and weekends, even weekend night shifts, which I hated. But those weekends where double pay

    Continue reading

    3M Response

    November 8, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you sharing your experience and advice.

  6. "Fair if you don't mind rotating shifts."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in New Ulm, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent wage. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Rotating Shifts. Little work-life balance.

    3M Response

    September 27, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

  7. "They want to much for to little of money I don't know how the other plants are but the one Indianapolis sucks."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 3M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The insurance is good that's it

    Cons

    Running two lines for a little bit of money.

    Continue reading
  8. "Gg"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Machine Operator 

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to work safe and clean

    Cons

    Shifts so don’t really get a good work to life balance

    3M Response

    July 26, 2019Employment Brand Team

    Hello, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy your work at 3M and appreciate your feedback.

  9. "Top company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Machine Operator in Newton Aycliffe, England

    I have been working at 3M for more than a year

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere and everyone treated with respect

    Cons

    Unlikely to get a permanent contract

    Continue reading
  10. "Good company closing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Machine Operator in Eagan, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M for less than a year

    Pros

    Good vending machine food. The people

    Cons

    Lazy people. They hire anybody until they close

Found 28 reviews