Northrop Grumman

  www.northropgrumman.com
  www.northropgrumman.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated 27 September, 2014
Updated 27 September, 2014
1,761 Reviews
3.4
1,761 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman Chairman, CEO & President Wesley G. Bush
Wesley G. Bush
730 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The 9/80 schedule makes it easier for employees to maintain a better work/life balance (in 127 reviews)

  • Good Benefits, Predictable paycheck, management wont fire you if your a sleezebag (in 125 reviews)


Cons
  • Work/Life balance can be quite nonexistent depending on the program and location you are in (in 27 reviews)

  • 15-23 yrs experience engineers quietly in order to save upper management staff (in 53 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 3 people found this helpful  

    Careful employer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Consistent backlog of billable engineering

    Cons

    Frightened of new work, especially with new customers or in new markets. Losing work to smaller, more nimble companies.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Adapt product line and significant engineering capabilities to commercial markets, such as industrial systems automation security. Find hard problems to solve and take the market lead on doing so.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great place to work!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    Good benefits, great environment, and great people to work with. Have been with company a long time.

    Cons

    AS sector moving to Florida. Good for people who are going, not so good for people who want to stay in New York.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Northrop Grumman Response

    Sep 22, 2014Social Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are honored that you enjoy working with us!

  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Ability to learn and grow with your career.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Logistics Engineer  in  El Segundo, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Senior Logistics Engineer in El Segundo, CA (US)

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for educational growth and advancement.

    Cons

    No applicable issues related to position.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to reward employees for outstanding performance.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Northrop Grumman Response

    Sep 22, 2014Social Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are honored that you enjoy working with us!

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5.  

    Salary

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    Interesting work and good people

    Cons

    Not enough raises for this job

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Mid level raises should increase .

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Company for advancement

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lead Engineering Manager  in  Huntsville, AL (US)
    Current Employee - Lead Engineering Manager in Huntsville, AL (US)

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked across several programs and the management varies. Most of the time they are very responses to what you are looking for in you future.

    Cons

    Getting stuck with poor managers. It is not all of them but they are out there.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Northrop Grumman Response

    Sep 22, 2014Social Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for the positive review! We are honored to have you apart of the team for the last three years.

  7.  

    My experience at Northrop Grumman Corp. was positive I literally grew up there as a man and became a good employee.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Manager  in  El Segundo, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Project Manager in El Segundo, CA (US)

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They allowed me to grow as a employee I learned solid leadership skills and they allowed me to to be promoted through the ranks.

    Cons

    Like I said there is room for promotion but you spend a lot of hours at work which for some can disrupt work-life balance.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Work life- balance the is more important than Senior Management knows you have you have the potential to get burned out.

    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  8.  

    Competitive Salaries

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer III  in  Colorado Springs, CO (US)
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer III in Colorado Springs, CO (US)

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable work with very competitive pay.

    Cons

    Health insurance benefits are not what they used to be.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cyber Software Engineer  in  Chantilly, VA (US)
    Current Employee - Cyber Software Engineer in Chantilly, VA (US)

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman as an intern for more than a year

    Pros

    -Working on an R&D effort is great exposure to different types of technology.
    -Good salary and great benefits.
    -Company has a good reputation which opens a lot of doors
    -Possibility of working in different locations

    Cons

    -A lot of paperwork and bureaucracy
    -Projects can be dropped any second
    -Feeling of being stagnant

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Northrop Grumman Response

    Sep 22, 2014Social Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your positive review! And thank you for your support as an intern!

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Very Satisfying

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People. Benefits are competitive. Leave policy is very good. Variety of programs and opportunities to keep employees challenged.

    Cons

    Personnel levels tend to be understaffed for surge levels. Requirements for promotions not clearly defined. Not immune from office politics.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Work on retention of workers with mid level experience.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Northrop Grumman Response

    Sep 22, 2014Social Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are honored that you enjoy working with us!

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Diverse Company with Potential

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Large company with diverse offerings. Opportunity to get involved in a variety of different projects. Potential for growth if you push the envelope.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy and politics. Extensive networking and use of who you know required to move around. Lots of senior folks just waiting retirement hanging around.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Still very defense minded. Need to adopt a more commercial perspective particularly when it comes to promoting talent and recognizing those with potential. The earn your time model is not successful. Talent continues to walk out the door to more aggressive and forward thinking companies.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Northrop Grumman Response

    Sep 22, 2014Social Recruiting Lead

    Thanks for the four stars! Glad to hear that you found opportunity and growth with Northrop Grumman!

Worked for Northrop Grumman? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.