Esri

www.esri.com

Esri Reviews

Updated 28 January, 2015
Updated 28 January, 2015
252 Reviews
3.1
252 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Esri President Jack Dangermond
Jack Dangermond
184 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Provides a great work life balance (in 15 reviews)

  • great benefits --- essentially free healthcare (in 17 reviews)


Cons
  • There is no career path - pick your life's work and you will be just fine (in 18 reviews)

  • No opportunity for career growth unless someone ahead of you retires or leaves the company (in 13 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    A lot of smart, innovative people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Esri full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Staying on the cutting edge of the GIS industry, supportive of learning new things

    Cons

    A poor manager can last forever and be a big road block, short on vacation

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Very nice place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Manager/Consultant in Redlands, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Project Manager/Consultant in Redlands, CA (US)

    I have been working at Esri

    Pros

    Excellent coworkers, customer oriented work is very interesting and you can learn a lot when the opportunity comes by.

    Cons

    Average pay, not a whole lot of upward mobility, management not geared towards supporting younger generation trends or growth

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need more dynamic young blood

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Esri Response

    Jan 28, 2015

    We agree that part of what makes Esri a great place to work is interacting with incredible organizations and seeing how they’re using our technology. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are ... More

  3.  

    Very happy.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC (US)

    I have been working at Esri

    Pros

    Good company, values employees, responsible company, good benefits.

    Cons

    Lots to learn and it's every changing, but it can make it fun and a challenge.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More clear onboarding plan.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Esri Response

    Jan 20, 2015Human Resources

    Thanks for chiming in from Charlotte! We’re sorry to hear your onboarding experience fell short of your expectations and we will talk with the management team to see where we can improve.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Rewarding Career Move

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redlands, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redlands, CA (US)

    I have been working at Esri

    Pros

    The people are incredible to work with and our benefits are excellent - not only for employees but spouses and families as well.
    Our software really allows people to make a positive difference and that is a rewarding feeling.
    Redlands is a great town that is very family oriented and away from the "rat race".

    Cons

    Being a campus of a couple thousand people I understand that it is difficult to have large scale interactions...that being said, there are little to no opportunities for employees (who move to Redlands from around the world) with similar interests -- both personally and professionally-- to network.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue strongly pushing for communication to be more transparent throughout the entire company and support
    forums that allow employees to engage internally.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Esri Response

    Jan 20, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are working on an initiative that will allow employees to network with each other in an open, fun environment. This will be a great way for ... More

  6. 2 people found this helpful  

    Low pay but stable

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Esri

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Low pay and few chances for advancement

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Great Place to End Your Career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Redlands, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Redlands, CA (US)

    I have been working at Esri full-time

    Pros

    -Great Technology for Power Users and Business Partners
    -Great Benefits
    -Financially Stable
    -Internal Travel Agency
    -Training Opportunities (software and professional)
    -No real expectations for outstanding performance

    Cons

    -Pay is 20-40 percent below market for similar positions. Stay here too long and people wonder if you are crazy.
    -Hourly pay is abused by so many, particularly senior staff. No accountability
    -Account Managers are treated like outside sales, but there are no commissions or bonuses
    -Annual raises are around 2%.
    -Incentive to get things done quickly is not there; no sense of urgency
    -There are zero opportunities for advancement. You are pigeon holed the day you are hired.
    -Company lacks a long term business strategy and vision.
    -Most senior leaders came from government and lack the business knowledge (not responsible for profit/loss) to grow the company. Serious leadership issues.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    -Transition to a salary based pay structure.
    -Adjust pay accordingly
    -Bring in new senior talent with real world business experience that know how to build organizations
    -Look at incentive pay options, even if it means reducing company contributions. Reward those that produce.
    -Push down profit and loss to individual industry managers; make them accountable!
    -Promote those that produce/eliminate those that don't

    Esri is losing market share daily as a result of a senior management team that lacks the vision and abilities to take it to the next level. It is truly sad to watch. If Jack had a competent management team below him, he wouldn't have to make all of the decisions. And unfortunately, not all of Jack's decisions are correct, but those below him would never tell him. They are just waiting him out until they retire.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  8. 2 people found this helpful  

    A Slammed Foot in the Door

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redlands, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redlands, CA (US)

    I worked at Esri

    Pros

    The ever-expanding campus is kept relatively environmentally friendly and natural looking. Pretty good benefits (if you are full time). World renowned GIS software company in a little rural community. A comfortable place to work if you enjoy a very structured 8-5, low growth, same-old, same-old and no challenge.

    Cons

    First, DO NOT go in as a contracted employee! Your foot in the door...no such thing! The company is perpetually listing new job positions; however, if you keep your on eye on them, they also never hire for them. Looks great on paper, but the reality is more of a silent hire freeze. The company strongly emphasizes education, which is excellent; however, they fail to recognize knowledge or common sense. This creates a very resentful work atmosphere when you have individuals who have a "degree" but know nothing about business practices, organization or basic technology supervising individuals that have extensive work experience and knowledge to offer but are continuously blown off for lack of a degree. As a contracted employee, you will be treated as inferior. Put a lot of work and thought in to projects and day to day work only to have my contract terminated after over a year. Don't expect to take a sick day, an extra long lunch (approved by management) to go to your child's award ceremony or get tied up in a traffic delay; it will be held against you as a contracted employee...even after being contracted for over a year. Executive management has their priorities backwards and the employees pay for it, but don't get paid for it....but they'll remind you that your health insurance is completely paid for...if that's all you want out of a job, this would be a great place!

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Down play the micro-management. Pay attention to the employees that are actually doing the work, not the ones that pretend to do the work. For a technology giant, the internal technology is almost embarrassing; Instead of building giant beautiful buildings, upgrade what already exists. Encourage departments with tools to improve their technology and work processes; support change.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Esri Response

    Jan 28, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your experience here. As a growing technology company, we often have multiple openings for the same position. To avoid confusion to applicants, we do not ... More

  9.  

    Amazing benefits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Esri (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, people stay for a long time here

    Cons

    Very specialized work, pigeon holed very easily

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Esri Response

    Jan 27, 2015

    The tenure of our employees is something we take great pride in, as well as the benefits we provide to our employees and their families. We encourage employees to be proactive and talk with their ... More

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Applications developer

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Esri full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good starter company. Laid back work environment. 401k. Dental and Vision.

    Cons

    No vertical growth. Terrible pay. No stock options.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Esri Response

    Jan 16, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Even though Esri is a flat organization, employees have many opportunities to take on new projects and increased responsibility. If you feel this is not available to you ... More

Work at Esri? Share Your Experiences

Esri

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.