Boots

www.boots.jobs
Employer Engaged

Boots Reviews

Updated 27 February, 2015
Updated 27 February, 2015
211 Reviews
3.2
211 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boots Managing Director Simon Roberts
Simon Roberts
55 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Staff discount was good and always felt appreciated as an employe (in 25 reviews)

  • Always had good discount for Boots products and double discount days for staff (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours and not enough FTE mean that quite often the store has long queues (in 11 reviews)

  • customer service ethic disappears beyond the application and interview (in 7 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    I work in a busy airport store

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Staff discount is only the only benefit

    Cons

    Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 08, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.

  2.  

    Top heavy, wasteful company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

    Cons

    Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  3.  

    A Great First Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Basildon, South East England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Basildon, South East England, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, Cared about Employees, variety of work

    Cons

    Managers would not always back up staff with customer problems

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    great team, good training, nice staff

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    good atmosphere and good team

    Cons

    repetitive duties, long hours potentially

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    more rotations

    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  6.  

    Amazing job - best for a student

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Trainee Healthcare Assistant in Shepherds Bush, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Trainee Healthcare Assistant in Shepherds Bush, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    -pays well
    -good staff discount
    -paid holiday
    -sick pay
    -a generally good environment: happy, full of life, making customers feel good

    Cons

    Different in every store depending on manager, some could be strict, some could be very laid-back making the environment much more enjoyable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Uniform policies - some managers are really specific about wearing BOOTS uniform only however for someone like me who is tiny most of their bottoms/skirts don't fit and had issues with my manage (i had to alter my skirt privately in order to please my manager) whereas in other stores i could just wear a navy blue skirt similar to boots one and it's just fine.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Your insights are much appreciated and taken into consideration.

  7.  

    Good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Optometrist in Oxford, England (UK)
    Former Contractor - Optometrist in Oxford, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots as a contractor (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    High standards at all levels

    Cons

    Clinical records paper - not computerised

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Paper records are cumbersome and inefficient

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Thank you for the review. We value all the feedback we receive.

  8.  

    great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    flexibility, opportunities, friendly, good working hours

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

  9.  

    Love it, best company I've worked for!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at Boots part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice management, work hard enough and def room to advance!

    Cons

    Have seen nothing bad so far

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More updated makeup products

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. Keep up with the good work.

  10.  

    Good place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good team.good hours, good perks

    Cons

    No downsides I an think of. A lovely place to work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

Work at Boots? Share Your Experiences

Boots

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.