Boots

www.boots.jobs

Boots Reviews

Updated 25 January, 2015
Updated 25 January, 2015
203 Reviews
3.3
203 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boots Managing Director Simon Roberts
Simon Roberts
52 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Staff discount was good and always felt appreciated as an employe (in 25 reviews)

  • Always had good discount for Boots products and double discount days for staff (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours and not enough FTE mean that quite often the store has long queues (in 11 reviews)

  • customer service ethic disappears beyond the application and interview (in 7 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    I work in a busy airport store

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in East Anglia, SK

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Staff discount is only the only benefit

    Cons

    Often have reprofiling which does not take into consideration individual circumstances. If staff do not agree to proposed change to hours, they are told they will have to leave. Even if they cannot do the change due to child care needs etc. they have no respect for staff, all they care about is the needs of the business.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Management need to be on the shop floor more, maybe then they would see how disgruntled their employees are. Not one member of staff I work with is happy with their job.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 08, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.

  2.  

    Top heavy, wasteful company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Quick progression if you are willing to work hard.

    Cons

    Pharmacy team members can be very clicky and self absorbed. Very wasteful practices regarding show material. Bit slow to embrace change. Not enough staff in medium sized stores.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need to move on from rows of white shelves. Stop replacing whole cardboard stands when a sticker could update the offers.

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  3.  

    Great working at Boots, very friendly team and everyone is always available to help with questions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England (UK)

    I worked at Boots part-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Really enjoyed the training programme, they showed a genuine care for my learning and development. I started as a customer assistant and was able to be healthcare trained very quickly.

    Cons

    Difficult working with some angry customers but managers usually take control of the situation, so it was not too bad.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good management, constantly got new managers in however I liked the fast-paced environment

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed working for Boots.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Had a nice with both management and staff..very welcoming right from the first day. So i enjoyed my work all thru even though i was just there for the xmas period and was not taken on.
    Not so sure if i would be paid again as i worked a week more before my contract ended..was paid on 19th as payday for workers after working for like 3weeks,but my contract ended 28th..can someone help in this please..a bit confused.

    Cons

    Had really long queues especially weekends and we were a bit short on weekend staffs..so i had to shuttle btwn stocking shelves and working at the till.
    And alsi standing for hours without even resting until lunch break.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They should have more staffs during weekends and also have list of working periods for staff displayed before the week runs out. Cos i had difficulty in knowing what shift i was on everyday.

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. I advise you to contact your Line Manager to find out more about your pay. We are grateful for all your feedback.

  6.  

    Really Nice company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Christmas Sales Assistant in Letterkenny (Ireland)
    Former Employee - Christmas Sales Assistant in Letterkenny (Ireland)

    I worked at Boots as a contractor (less than an year)

    Pros

    Friendly people
    Good wages
    Not bad benefits

    Cons

    Have to be good at retail i.e. be really friendly and happy all the time - not so great for me!

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 22, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.

  7.  

    Christmas Customer Assistant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Christmas Customer Assistant
    Current Employee - Christmas Customer Assistant

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Really friendly and approachable colleagues that were genuinely passionate about their job.

    Friendly , yet professional management team.

    You receive feedback quite often, so if you perform well it is noticed by managers.

    Cons

    Sometimes it would be slightly disorganised. For example, if you had to take a day off you had to remind the management team several times (and they often forget.)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be nice if the rota for upcoming weeks were displayed earlier, or if they can be accessible online by staff members.

    Overall though I had a wonderful experience working with some great people. Highly recommend!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 13, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.

  8.  

    Feel good culture that shines through to our people & customers.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Learning and Development in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Learning and Development in Nottingham, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Ability to move to different departments & locations.
    Work Levels of senerotiy L1-7.
    The feeling of being apart of something huge.
    History & heritage.
    No:1 for customer care
    Good management

    Cons

    Overall Boots is a great company to work for but I would like to see more training workshops and sessions for our Customer Assistants.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide support office employees with a clear PDP to reach the next work level

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Jan 12, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots UK. Keep up the great work.

  9.  

    A very optimistic future

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Office in Nottingham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Support Office in Nottingham, England (UK)

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    A great company with a brilliant past and future. Good package and benefits. I work with a great team who always strive to be at their best. I would recommend you take a look if you want a challenge and interesting opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours and high pressure are the main challenges but other than that I don't have too many issues with my job.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 08, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

  10.  

    ....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly
    discount
    health and beauty knowledge

    Cons

    Management staff are unsupportive, providing a negative atmosphere
    long days especially at Christmas

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Less favouritism in departments, more communication, staff meetings. Regular management training, some managers need to learn to manage their staff properly.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our colleagues and managers alike are essential parts of the success of our business. We appreciate your feedback.

Work at Boots? Share Your Experiences

Boots

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.