Avery Dennison

  www.averydennison.com
  www.averydennison.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

Avery Dennison Reviews

Updated 8 September, 2014
Updated 8 September, 2014
225 Reviews
3.4
225 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Avery Dennison Chairman, President, & CEO Dean A. Scarborough
Dean A. Scarborough
144 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • good careers oportunity ; good work/life balance specially in the European HQ (in 15 reviews)

  • Fun work environment with a good work life balance (in 14 reviews)


Cons
  • Used to have work-life balance, now it's just talk (in 7 reviews)

  • Upper management do engage at the production level to relate to all employee group (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Good progressive company.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time

    Pros

    Very innovative company. Very excellent at employee development and mobility. Very customer focused.

    Cons

    Divisional leadership and philosophy at a division level can change frequently along with a change in direction. Need to remain flexible.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 07, 2014Director, Global Digital Corporate Communications

    We appreciate the transparency in your feedback, and thank you for the recommendation.

  2.  

    Good Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Product Development Specialist  in  Beaverton, OR (US)
    Current Employee - Customer Product Development Specialist in Beaverton, OR (US)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Work Life balance and office culture

    Cons

    Leadership and lack of training

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 07, 2014Director, Global Digital Corporate Communications

    We will evaluate improvements in relation to your comment on more training. Thanks for the insight.

  3.  

    Well-recognized company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager  in  Painesville, OH (US)
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Painesville, OH (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good training

    Cons

    No chances for promotions.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    We appreciate the feedback, we will look into more opportunities for internal promotions.

  4. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    Proceed at Your Own Risk

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Field Manager
    Current Employee - Field Manager

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Compensation
    GOLD Program
    Average Benefits
    Tuition Reimbursement

    Cons

    Unhealthy leadership culture at a corporate level
    Poor management of processes and systems
    Disjointed - decentralized company that needs to take a good look in the mirror and figure out who they are and set a strategy

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the insights. We're always looking for ways to improve.

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Ten years with the company, never one day the same as the next!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Finance Associate  in  Westborough, MA (US)
    Current Employee - Finance Associate in Westborough, MA (US)

    I have been working at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Solid structure, competitive, strategic in the markets that they serve. Appear to be forward thinking but the sale of some core competencies makes you wonder what would Stan think.....

    Cons

    lack of investment in people, systems, and leaders. Too much nepotism and "old boy" network at play. Regions and plant locations are pitted against each other creating negative tension that is not positive.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    You can't build for the future on a foundation of sand.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. We will look into improving upon the points you bring up in your comments.

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Product manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time

    Pros

    Flexible environment, possibility to work from home, easy interaction with senior management.

    Cons

    This company does not develop employees. Managers do not coach and mentor their teams. No opportunities to grow. Promotions happen at the top and not at the bottom.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Coach their employees. Do not let employees learn by themselves. Listen to employees, motivate them and believe on their capabilities.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
  8.  

    Lack of Vision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Director  in  Painesville, OH (US)
    Former Employee - Director in Painesville, OH (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, colleagues below top management level are quality people with good intentions.

    Cons

    Short sided Leadership team always fishing in the same pods with blind spot for new market potential

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Recognize talent and embrace innovation

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 12, 2014Digital Communications Specialist

    Thanks for your review. We'll look into better ways to communicate with the leadership team.

  9.  

    Good Company with excellent Benefits

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Tech IV
    Former Employee - Tech IV

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package
    Nice working conditions

    Cons

    Company make alot of unexpected decisions-some good some bad.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    ALways focus om better communication

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Avery Dennison Response

    Aug 07, 2014Director, Global Digital Corporate Communications

    We'll look into better ways to communicate at the senior management level, thanks for the input.

  10.  

    Excellent Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager  in  Brea, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Brea, CA (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great People and training for Marketing.

    Cons

    Lots of meetings and maybe too much consensus-building.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the great wor.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11.  

    Overall, a good place to work.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager  in  Brea, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Brea, CA (US)

    I worked at Avery Dennison full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company culture - employees care about the business and manage it like it is their own, but more importantly also care about each other.

    Cons

    The office products industry as a whole is in structural decline. There is significant consolidation among manufacturers as well as retailers.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Follow the trend of work moving from physical paper based products into more digital solutions.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

Worked for Avery Dennison? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.