MasterCard

  www.mastercard.com
Work in HR? Unlock Free Profile

MasterCard Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2014
All Employees Current Employees Only

3.6 268 reviews

89% Approve of the CEO

MasterCard President and CEO Ajay Banga

Ajay Banga

(171 ratings)

75% of employees recommend this company to a friend

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The company also has a great culture and most of its employees try to have a good work-life balance (in 39 reviews)

  • Good benefits, good pay, good global exposure but still very beaurocratic and "meeting heavy" (in 19 reviews)


Cons
  • Forget about work life balance that they preach on paper but do not put in practice (in 9 reviews)

  • There is a barrier with middle management - the top is visible and engaged but info stops in the middle (in 9 reviews)

More Highlights
101 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews
in
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Good place to land

    Vice President (Current Employee) Toronto, ON

    ProsDeep resources and expertise to leverage for success

    ConsLarge organization can be daunting to access

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great

    Project Manager (Former Employee) London, ON

    ProsLoads of opportunities, interesting projects

    ConsToo much admin. Process over Progress

    Advice to Senior ManagementReduce admin overload

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Great place to work - glad I made the leap!

    Leader (Current Employee) Purchase, NY (US)

    ProsIn addition to their solid place in the market, growing revenues and encouraging future, MasterCard treats their employees well, communicates effectively and provides empowerment to employees at all levels.

    ConsLike any large organization, politics can trump basic common sense with decision making. Also, titles for positions are ambiguous which causes some confusion.

    Advice to Senior ManagementWhile a matrix organization is a great collaborative tool, too many dotted lines or an unclear organizational structure leaves challenges.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

  1. We want your feedback – Are these company reviews helpful to you?  Yes | No
    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Outstanding culture that drives maximizing employee capabilities

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee)

    ProsSupportive and progressive culture that drives employees to maximize their capabilities and contributions. Less of the political culture found in other organizations which lends itself better to success. There is a reason it is viewed as one of the best places to work.

    ConsThere is a pace that can be heightened as far as delivery of solutions, but a solution is provided. Can increase the cross communication between business and an ease of corporate navigation can be improved.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 24, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks so much for your review - investing in our employees is a critical focus area...

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    About the job...

    Account Management (Current Employee)

    ProsI find a great live/work balance here at MasterCard; I start early and end early...usually 7AM - 4PM. The benefits are top notch with access to a gym and great medical and the company is doing very well overall.

    ConsOn the down side, there is a lot of structure that come along with a bigger, public company...meaning lots of red-tape and reporting to managers.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 22, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    People join Cultures..great tips from an insider - thanks!

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Satisified

    Business Leader (Current Employee) Purchase, NY (US)

    ProsGreat work life balance and corporate culture

    ConsThe company and its people are very kind and professional. Great company.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 15, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Your review is appreciated and will be helpful for others - thanks!

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Middle Management will make or break the future of plans of this company if they don't take good care of their reports

    Project Manager (Current Employee) O Fallon, MO (US)

    ProsGreat Benefits, Occasionally interesting projects if you are in the right team especially if project is a business imperative.
    Great Top Leadership especially CEO. He is taking this company places. If only an ounce of some of his awesomeness can trickle down to the mid level management.

    ConsToo much cronyism. Make that extreme cronyism. It's done so openly it stinks.
    Forget about work life balance that they preach on paper but do not put in practice.

    Advice to Senior ManagementStop making your friends into people managers when they lack the ability to managers of technical teams or people managers period. People managers are critical to building the people if they can't it cost the company more money but lost trust and lost team moral.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 10, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Your feedback and candor is important to us - thanks for sharing.

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    MasterCard is a great company!

    Anonymous Employee (Current Employee) Purchase, NY (US)

    ProsUnder Ajay's leadership MasterCard has become more diverse. There has been a growth in women and ethnicity within the Purchase location. However, I would still like to see more women in Exectives Roles. It also offers a good work-life balance.

    ConsSome managers lack leadership skills.

    Advice to Senior ManagementPay attention to the constructive feedback that is given.

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jun 27, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks so much for your candid response!

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Growing company with new opportunities for career growth.

    Business Leader (Current Employee) Purchase, NY (US)

    ProsHiring new employees that bring a new perspective to the company is helping to create a better culture. The company offers challenging work, a good corporate culture and provides a great work environment. There are growing opportunities in new areas of the business.

    ConsFunding can be limited for projects and long work hours and sometimes unrealistic expectations can make it stressful. There are some bad managers you wouldn't want to work for but it seems to be improving very slowly.

    Advice to Senior ManagementHold managers accountable for coaching and supporting their employees

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jun 30, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for sharing your experience!

    • Culture & Values
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Career Opportunities
    • Approves of CEO

     

    Good experience of working with mastercard

    Vice President (Current Employee) Singapore (Singapore)

    ProsThought leader,good leadership teams,gives freedom to work,good work enviroment

    Conssometime tends to be too centralized,less flexible and not to sales focused

    Advice to Senior Managementfaster,nimbler,simpler and more sales and customer focus

    Yes, I would recommend this company to a friend – I'm optimistic about the outlook for this company

    MasterCard Response

    Jun 18, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thank you - we appreciate your openness and honesty!

Worked for MasterCard? Contribute to the Community!

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.